Skip to main content

Economics: Home

Welcome to a LibGuides for economic studies. Here you will find suggested resources and tips for methods and approaches.

Home

Inside this guide

Welcome to the Library Economics Research Guide. The resources listed here have been selected to help you conduct research, broaden your understanding of the global economy, and in general, spark your interest in learning more about economics.

Associate Librarian

Shenise McGhee, M.S.L.S., M.S.H.E.'s picture
Shenise McGhee, M.S.L.S., M.S.H.E.
Contact:
John Brown Watson Memorial Library System
1200 North University Drive Pine Bluff, Arkansas 71601
Office: (870) 575-8896 Fax: (870) 575-4642

Books from the Main Library Collection

A Video of Economics

JSTOR Database Economic Journals

JSTOR Database provided by University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff. JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

IUP Journal of Applied Economics

The IUP Journal of Applied Economics is a quarterly economics journal that analyzes the issues of micro, macro, development and energy economics. IJAE provides research articles on industrial economics, public finance, industry, and agricultural and rural economics.

http://www.jstor.org/

International Advances in Economic Research

International Advances in Economic Research (IAER), provides the latest research on today's economic policies and tomorrow's economic and financial conditions. The journal recognizes that research conducted in one country often has implications for other countries.

http://www.jstor.org/

Journal of Economic Issues

The JEI has been internationally respected journal of institutional and evolutionary economics since its founding in 1967. The journal has published articles that describe aspects of evolving economic system, economic problems, economic policy, and methodology. The primary mission of the JEI is to present articles that use and develop the core ideas of institutional economics in discussions of current economic problems and policy alternatives. The JEI is the leading journal for ongoing debate of the institutional economic theory and a major forum for discussion of solutions to real economic problems.

https://www.jstor.org/journal/jeconiss

Journal of Economics & Finance

The Journal of Economics and Finance Education (JEFE) is an electronic journal of the Academy of Economics and Finance (AEF). Its inaugural edition was published in Winter, 2002. JEFE is a general interest publication, which targets articles in the area of economic and finance education. JEFE invites economic and finance contributions in three main areas: research, instruction, and content.

http://www.jstor.org/

Journal of Economic Perspectives

The Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP) is an economic journal published by the American Economic Association. The journal is very broad in its scope. According to its editors its purpose is: to create and integrate lessons learned from active lines of economic research. To provide economic analysis of public policy issues; to encourage cross-fertilization of ideas among the fields of thinking; to offer readers an accessible source for state-of-the-art economic thinking; to suggest directions for future research; to provide insights and readings for classroom use; and to address issues relating to the economics profession.

https://www.jstor.org/journal/jeconpers

 

Quick Links

Economics Indicators

The Economic Security Index

The Economic Security Index (ESI) is an integrated measure of insecurity that shows how common large economic losses are within the U.S. population. Now, for the first time, it is possible to compare the ESI across the American states over the last generation

http://www.economicsecurityindex.org/

FRASER FEDERAL RESERVE ARCHIVE DISCOVER ECONOMIC HISTORY

The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) is a unique project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis’ Center for Economic Documents Digitization (CEDD), which seeks to preserve the nation's economic history through digitization

https://fraser.stlouisfed.org/

Consumer Price Index

The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.

http://www.bls.gov/cpi/

Bankruptcy Statistics

This section of uscourts.gov provides statistical data on the business of the federal Judiciary. Specific publications address the work of the appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services systems; and other components of the U.S. courts.

http://www.uscourts.gov/statistics-reports/caseload-statistics-data-tables