LibGuides: Art: Home

Library Liasion

Shenise McGhee, M.S.L.S., M.S.HED.

Email Me

Contact:

John Brown Watson Memorial Library System
1200 North University Drive Pine Bluff, Arkansas 71601

Office: (870) 575-8896 Fax: (870) 575-4642

e-book Database

Art
This e-book database contains over 4,929 art e-books. EBSCO e-book collection is from a growing selection of best-selling, front list and award-winning titles.

Graphic Art Collection

Graphic Arts
The collection primarily consists of costume and production design drawings, but also includes other forms of production art such as title art and animation artwork. The collection also includes a small number of paintings and illustrations of individuals prominent in the motion picture industry

ARTWORK GALLERY

Keepers of the Spirit: The L. A. Davis, Sr. Historical Collection

Art Train Journeys : Steam Train Painting by Howard Fogg - Railroad Art : Steam Train

African American Art Black Art paintings Elle Stringfellow Black Angels African American Angels

Quick 1 and 2 hour small paintings from the Gage Drawing Jam today

Watercolor Paintings

Video: How to get my art in a gallery

ART BOOKS FROM THE MAIN LIBRARY COLLECTION

Spirit of the Delta by Dorothy Sample Shawhan; Carolyn Norris; Patti Carr Black (Contribution by); Tom Rankin (Contribution by); Kim Rushing (Contribution by)
Call Number: Main Collection - Watson Memorial - 1st Fl 759.13 S534
ISBN: 9781604739923
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Spirit of the Delta contains 115 color images pulled from Norris's twenty-five years as a painter. Her existing artwork has been photographed by noted local photographer Kim Rushing and copies of the works that no longer exist have been found whenever possible.
Engaging Learners Through Artmaking by Katherine M. Douglas
Call Number: Main Collection - Watson Memorial - 1st Fl 372.5044 D734
ISBN: 9780807749760
Publication Date: 2009-06-12
The authors address theory, instruction, assessment, and advocacy in a user-friendly format that includes color photos of classroom set-ups and student work, sample demonstrations, and reflections on activities
Black Art by Alvia J. Wardlaw; Robert V. Rozelle (Editor); Tom Jenkins (Illustrator); Richard R. Brettell (Introduction by); David C. Driskell (Introduction by)
Call Number: Reference Circ Desk 1st FL Watson (Non-circ items) 704.0396073 B627
ISBN: 9780810931046
Publication Date: 1989-11-01
Many black American artists have sought inspiration in ancestral African visual arts, music and dance. Beyond this, African-American painters and sculptors--urban and rural, folk and militant--are struggling toward self-definition. A touring exhibition, which opened at the Dallas Museum of Art where Wardlaw is a curator, explored these themes with stunning impact and is re-created here.
Art by Marilyn Stokstad; Michael Cothren
Call Number: Main Collection - Watson Memorial - 1st Fl 709 S874, 2003
ISBN: 9780133843750
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Art: A Brief History continues to balance formal analysis with contextual art history in order to engage a diverse student audience. Authors Marilyn Stokstad and Michael Cothren, both scholars as well as teachers, share a common vision that survey courses should be filled with as much enjoyment as learning, and that they should foster an enthusiastic, as well as an educated, public for the visual arts

ART DATABASES

Academic Premier Search
OFFERS FULL TEXT. Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
more...less...
How to Use Academic Search Premier:

1) The search screen will appear. There are many ways to search this database. Click the drop-down arrows next to the search boxes to search by author, title, subject terms, geographic terms, people, and journal name, etc.

2) Perhaps the simplest way to get started is to search by keyword (in the KW field in the drop down box). In order to search by keyword, develop a few keywords and keyword combinations that describe your topic. Enter your keywords or combinations (using "and" between terms.)

3) A list of records for your search will appear with title highlighted, followed by author, source, abstract, and subjects. There is also an "Add to Folder" button so you can easily keep track of articles you have found. Below that there will be a button for Full Text if it is available, or a "Get It @ R" button to search for it at RU.

4) Click on the title to view the detailed record which includes buttons to retrieve or search for the full text of the article, and author/title, periodical title, date, volume/issue, pages, ISSN numbers, abstract information, subject descriptors, and accession number information.

5) On the right-hand toolbar you can choose to add to folder, print, email, save, and cite the article.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. This database is more appropriate for the advanced student or scholar, but lower level undergraduates may also find useful material.

School of Arts and Science

Department of Art
The Department of Art offers a Bachelor of Science degree in Art, with a curriculum for Visual Art (non-teaching and a curriculum in Art Education (teaching). The curriculum in visual arts is designed to prepare students for graduate or professional school and to meet the market needs in commercial or fine arts. The curriculum leading to teaching certification is designed for those students who wish to pursue a career in teaching in the elementary and secondary schools.

ART TEXTBOOKS ON RESERVE

Art Fundamentals Theory and Practice by Otto Ocvirk
ISBN: 9780072878714
Guide to Graphic Design by Scott W. Santoro; Emily Santoro
ISBN: 9780132300704
Launching the Imagination by Mary Stewart
ISBN: 9780073526485
The Power of Art by Richard L. Lewis; Susan Ingalls Lewis
ISBN: 9781133589716
Short Course in Photography by London; Barbara London; Jim Stone
ISBN: 9780205207879

LIBRARY CATALOG

Lion Search
Databases, e-Journals, Books, eBooks, and more 24/7 Access.
WorldCat
World's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in the Library Catalog.

Museums

Art Newspaper

The Art Newspaper
The Art Newspaper is the journal of record for the visual arts world, covering international news and events.

Art: Home

Welcome