Skip to main content

STEM: Home

This guide is designed to better help end-user to understand and explore STEM

Welcome

This guide contains resources for education pertaining to STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics): a collection of relevant databases, journals, website, eBooks, standards, organizations, and more related to STEM education.

System Administrator Librarian

Lavoris Martin, M.L.S.T. Ed., M.S.L.S.'s picture
Lavoris Martin, M.L.S.T. Ed., M.S.L.S.
Contact:
John Brown Watson Memorial Library System
(870) 575-8419

STEM Education Apps for Android, iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Windows

TECHNOLOGY (CODING)

MIT App Inventor (Grades 6-12) - an app that lets users create more apps and offer additional supports for teachers.  Twitter: @MITAppInventor

Hopscotch (Grades 4-6) - introduction to coding for younger grade students. With the rules students learn in this game (like sequencing, abstraction, values, and conditionals), they are able to create games, animation, and art.  Twitter: @Hopscotch

NASA Visualization Explorer (Grades 2-12, College Level) - NASA partners in STEM and is the hub of all astronomy science knowledge. This is a visual collection of all their space research – from the moon landings to the outer edges of the Kuiper Belt.  Twitter: @NASAViz

COLLABORATION & ASSESSMENT

Kahoot (Grades K-12) - This cloud-based classroom management system is a great way to incorporate gamification in the STEM classroom. With this app, teachers can create quizzes and activities called “Kahoots.” Then, Kahoot makes it easy to do quiz-style games, with students chiming in from their personal devices. Twitter: @GetKahoot

EARTH SCIENCE

Project Noah (Grades 4-12) - teaches physical science and biology concepts, civic responsibility and journalism. Students can contribute to this crowdsourced nature journal of flora and fauna simply by taking pictures of the world around them. Twitter:  @projectnoah

Earth-Now Jet Propulsion Laboratory App (5-12) - This is the one science education app in the pantheon of interactive NASA options that focuses on the earth’s atmosphere and health.  Twitter: @NASAJPL

ENGINEERING & MAKERS

Sound Uncovered (Grades 3-12) - is an interactive tool that teach students about acoustic phenomena, auditory illusions, and sound-processing. Twitter: @exploratorium

Robots for iPad (Grades 6-12) - mobile app students can explore over 150 different robots from 19 countries, visuals – with 360° views, video tutorials, and high-interest articles to support the experiential learning. Twitter:  @robotsapp

GENERAL SCIENCE

Next Generation Science Standards and Common Core State Standards (Grades K-12) - Mastery Connect - teachers and parents can view the Standards in one app, teachers can also organize lessons by conceptual progression and topic, or use the domains model. The Common Core State Standards app, has frameworks for both traditional and integrated Math standards. Twitter: @MasteryConnect

Anatomy 4D Google App (Grades 9-12, College Level) - this is a great tool to help them their questions through inquiry and discovery into the human body – up close and personal! In this app, students print any of the 2D images from the publisher’s website and then scanning it with their device. Instantly, they have an anatomy lab that allows an intimate understanding of the human body. Twitter:  @DAQRI

DIY Nano (Grades K-5) - This is a great app for hands-on teachers and parents who want to introduce nanotechnology to their students in a fun and simple way.  Twitter: @SWNISENet

Algodoo (Grades 4-12) - Mixes the concepts of a sandbox and laboratory so that students can create their own physics questions and discover the laws that govern gravity, magnetism, and light. Twitter: @algodoo

The Radix Endeavor (Grades 8-12) - The Radix Endeavor was collaboratively designed by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, MIT, and Filament Games to be an innovative way to get students excited about math and science.  Twitter: @radixendeavor

STEM

STEM Videos

STEM Education Resources

STEM Education Resources


Below you can find helpful resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.  If you find a resource you think we should include, please contact Lavoris Martin with a link to the content.

Websites

Change the Equation - A coalition of CEOs that seek to improve the teaching and learning of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics through improving philanthropy, inspiring youth, and advocating change. 

Mathalicious - Lesson ideas and inspiration help teachers bring real world problem solving to standards-based instruction in math classrooms. 

National Science Foundation Classroom Resources - a diverse collection of lessons and web resources for classroom teachers, their students, and students' families.

Siemens STEM Academy - Siemens is committed to supporting the next generation of scientists, engineers, and business leaders through multiple educational initiatives.

STEMConnector - sign up via e-mail to the STEM Daily in order to receive updates on the latest developments in STEM teaching and learning. 

STEM Education Twitter Feeds

@camsiemcadams - STEM Director for Washington DC public schools.

@CoolMathGuy - One of the most popular math teachers in the United States shares videos and math-education tweets with his followers.

@TeachingSTEM - Teaching STEM allows teachers to share resources for teaching and learning about STEM in the classroom.

@NatSciTeachAssoc - The National Science Teacher's Association is "committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all."

@100Kin10 - "Answering the Nation's STEM Challenge. 100Kin10 is a multi-sector mobilization that responds to the national imperative to train 100,000 excellent STEM teachers."

@GatesEd - The Gates Foundation "seeks to ensure that all students graduate from high school prepared to complete a degree with value in the workplace."

STEM Websites

These free resources are available for you to investigate and infuse into your current curriculum.

Bridges: An Integrated STEM Teaching Guide — an interactive inquiry-based instructional unit on building different types of bridges created through a partnership between Elmer’s Glue and Ohio Center for History, Art and Technology.

Campus Ties - Campus Ties, a collaboration between Michigan State University, Iowa State University, and Mississippi State University, is a gamified STEM learning site for college and college-bound students. Learners work with bite-sized lessons with build-in assessments and micro-certificates upon completion of courses.

CK12.org - For teachers this site includes lesson plans, pacing guides, differentiation guides, in-class presentations, etc., on 5000 math and science concepts. For students it has readings, videos, quizzes, sims, real world group activities, etc.

College Success for Women in STEM— a guidebook and comprehensive resource for women to learn about education and career options in STEM fields. Website offers list of scholarships and grant opportunities exclusively for women in STEM, list of top careers for women in STEM, and expert advice from those already in the field.

CyberDegrees.org - website with information for students on the field of cyber security.

eGFI Dream the Future — lesson plans, classroom activities, outreach programs, web resources to strengthen skills in math and science through engineering projects.

Elementary STEM Education Resources — resources for the younger students to begin to become excited about STEM subjects from STEM is Elementary.

Elementary Science Program — offers resources for both teachers and students including kits, videos, units, and a blog on current events in science.

EverFi —cutting-edge education technology free of cost to K-12 schools.

Exploratorium — located in San Francisco, this museum offers online resources to be used in both formal and informal learning settings. These teaching tools will provide first-hand investigations of scientific materials, phenomena, and ideas.

First Book — free material including posters and education guides. While required, registration is free.

Future Goals — a North American education initiative launched by the NHL and the NHL Players Association that helps students build their science, technology, engineering, and math skills using hockey as a learning vehicle.

Intel Online Resources for K-12 Teacher — a wide array of STEM-centered online tools and resources that are designed to inspire better learning and greater discovery created by Intel.

Kinetic City — a collection of science experiments, games, activities, etc.

Learningscience.org - a free and open learning community for sharing newer and emerging tools to teach science.

Masters in Education - financial resource for teachers considering a continuing their education with a searchable scholarship database.

NASA Educators — offers teaching material, resources, featured sites, and so much more by grade level.

National Geographic STEM Education — offers teaching resources such as ideas, activities, lessons, units, etc., that are connected to real-world scientists

National Initiative for Cybersecurity Careers and Studies - One stop shop for cybersecurity careers and studies.

MASTER Tools — interactive tools and simulation environments to create authentic scientific experiences.

NSF Resources for STEM Education — offers information on teacher development, educational resources, assessments, and research syntheses. Check out Whyville, an interactive website where students can become “citizens” and learn to work on a variety of issues.

PBS STEM Education Resource Center — offers nearly 4,000 STEM resources from Public Broadcasting Services.

Rubistar — Create rubrics for your project-based learning activities – supported by a grant funded by the U.S. Department of Education, this site offers customizable rubrics for project-based activities in science, math, and other subjects.

Share My Lesson — an award-winning, online professional development community created by the American Federation of Teachers. Offers teaching resources and best practices at no cost.

 Science Demonstrations for Young Learners - From the College of Science and Technology at Temple University, this site offers videos of fun science demonstrations.

 Science Experiments for All Around Your Home - Offers examples of science experiments.

STEM Education Coalition - works aggressively to raise awareness in Congress, the Administration, and other organizations about the critical role that STEM education plays in enabling the U.S. to remain the economic and technological leader of the global marketplace of the 21st century.

STEMfinity — free STEM resources to supplement project-based learning for pre-K to 12.

Teach Ocean Science — uses the ocean as a natural STEM interdisciplinary subject to allow students learn to focus on solving real-world problems through hands-on, inquiry-based lessons.

Tips for Getting Girls Involved in STEM - Site that offers ideas and encouragement for females to explore careers in STEM.

Understanding Science — How science really works – site from the UC Berkeley that helps to explain the scientific process with links for teacher resources for primary, middle school, high school and even undergraduate students.