Skip to main content

STEM: Engineering

This guide is designed to better help end-user to understand and explore STEM

Engineering

This guide is to help you with your research in Engineering. I am available for individual or group consultations if you need further assistance regarding using these resources for your assignments and research. I am happy to make an appointment with you to assist with your research and other Library-related issues.  Please feel free to email me

Engineering Apps for iPad and Android

iPad Apps for Engineers                                 

AutoCAD WS - Autodesk's app lets engineers view, edit, and share DWG drawings through the iPad. Engineers can accurately annotate and revise drawings while they are on location in the field, in meetings, or out of the office.

Engineering Professional - reference tool, combines over 650 formulas in chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, hydrology, and mechanical engineering that allow calculations on everything from shafts to calculation on loads on beams.

Engineering Unit Conversion - is specifically designed for engineers, scientists, and students. It offers dimensions engineers need on a daily basis with all the units they commonly use.

Finger CAD - is a computer-aided design (CAD) application for technical drawing. Can draw mechanical components, bridges, geometrical figures, and houses.

Graphing Calculator - Turns the iPad into a high-resolution function plotter and scientific calculator.

HVAC Professional - Includes all 200 formulas of the HVAC Fomulator and adds 18 charts, as well as the complete International Mechanical Code.

LuxCalc Fluid Prop - Mechanical engineering app that allows engineers involved in thermal analysis to quickly and accurately (within 5%) calculate the thermophysical properties of common fluids found in heat transfer books.

Mechanical Engineer - Contains over 300 mechanical engineering formulas. Major areas covered in the program include: bearings, belts, boilers, brakes, clutches, elevators, gears, fluid power, heat transfer, internal combustion, kinetic energy, power plants, shafts springs, and vehicle drive.

TouchCalc – This calucator offers three different modes. The scientific mode, bit/integer mode and statistics mode.

TurboViewer X - TurboViewer X is a DWG viewer that supports both 2-D and 3-D CAD DWG files.

Sethi, C. (2012). 10 iPad Apps for Engineers. Retrieved from https://www.asme.org/engineering-topics/articles/technology-and-society/10-ipad-apps-for-engineers

Engineering Apps for Android

AndTruss2d - is a useful application for Civil and Mechanical Engineers using finite element method for truss design. The graphical user interface is very simple and easy to use, enabling engineers to visualize their truss designs.

Civil Engineering Basics - is a complete free handbook of basics of civil engineering with diagrams and graphs for better understanding. The app brings in a flashcard like presentation, the app is best way to learn the subject quickly and revise at the same time.

ElectroDroid - has an extensive list of electronic tools and is also a powerful reference guide for properties, laws, symbols, codes and much more. Included is information on resistor color code, SMD resistor code, inductor color code and much more.

EngineersCalc Calculator - is a scientific calculator application that can quickly decipher complex calculations. Has four intelligent engineering calculators that can efficiently perform calculations for unit conversions, trig & calculus functions, inertia calculations and much more.

Engineering Dictionary - is one of the most popular Android apps for engineers has over 5000 engineering terms and definitions.

Engineer-Jobs.com - directs user to the Engineer-Jobs.com website, where they can search and view a number of engineering job listings in various locations.

Engineering Unit Converter - is another great tool for android users that helps in converting units from one measurement system to another. This app is exclusively meant for system unit conversions. It has more than 500 units and 49 systems into which units can be converted. It includes categories related to engineering like entropy, length, electric charge, density and many more

PhysOrg.com Science News - ideal for engineers wanting to keep current with engineering news, breakthrough technology and spotlights on Science in the fields of Physics, Medicine, Nanotechnology, Electronics, Space & Earth Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Sciences, Engineering, Mathematics and much more.

Baugh, C. & Finn, W. (2011). Best Engineering Apps for Android. Retrieved from

http://www.brighthub.com/mobile/google-android/articles/113491.aspx

Engineering

Engineering Databases

EBSCO

Academic Search Elite - Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals.

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

TOPICsearch - Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

JSTOR

JSTOR -  digital library academic journals, s books and primary sources.

ProQuest

ProQuest Central - A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.

Research Library - A mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas, including the arts, business, education, engineering and technology, health and medical, history, law, literature and languages, multicultural themes, psychology, natural sciences, social sciences, & women’s studies

Science Database - Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology, covering   computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, transportation and more.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect - scientific, technical, and medical research

Engineering Open Access Free Journals

AIP Advances - Open Access Research - ‎An open access journal covering all areas of the physical sciences. Serving Physical Science‎ · Peer Reviewed Research

BioMed Central Online - freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication, without subscription charges or registration barriers.

Bentham Open Free - free-to-view online journals cover all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social sciences.

Highwire Press Free - is the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth! As of 3/25/15, we are assisting in the online publication of 2,434,604 free full-text articles and 7,659,003 total articles. There are 5 sites with free trial periods, and 80 completely free sites. 170 sites have free back issues, and 344 sites have pay per view!

Digital Library and Archives – a collection of free access e-journals hosted by the Virginia Tech Digital Library.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)- is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

EBSCOhost – Free databases. Includes full text dissertations

Hindawi Publishing - Advances in Civil Engineering is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of civil engineering.

J-STAGE Free - Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic. Japan's science and technology research scholarly journals of academic societies and research papers.

Journal of Engineering and Technology - a publication of M M University Mullana-Ambala, is a peer-reviewed online journal with Semiannual print on demand compilation of issues published.

Scielo - Research on Biomedical Engineering is the official journal of the Brazilian Society of Biomedical Engineering and is dedicated to publishing research in all fields of Biomedical Engineering.

Scientific Journals International – (SJI) publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals for all major disciplines.

Engineering Websites

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) - The ASCE provides a strong base of support for the civil engineering community. It offers resources for employers, students, faculty, children, parents, and teachers.

ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers - ASME helps the global engineering community develop solutions to real world challenges. ASME is a not-for-profit professional organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing and skill development across all engineering disciplines.

Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) - The Vision of the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) is to serve as the world's leading society of professionals devoted to developing and using engineering and technology to advance human health and well-being.

IEEE Women in Engineering (WIE) - is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.

National Science Foundation (NSF) - is an independent federal agency created by Congress "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..." mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.

National Society of Professional Engineers - an organization dedicated to the non-technical concerns of licensed professional engineers.

http://www.scienceandtechnologyresearchnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/STRN-for-STEM-300x107.pngScience and Technology Research News - Built for the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) communities, research news from hundreds of universities, government labs, institutes and industries

Society for Science and the Public - Society for Science & the Public (Society) is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) membership organization dedicated to public engagement in scientific research and education.