Skip to main content

STEM: Mathematics

This guide is designed to better help end-user to understand and explore STEM

Mathematics

This guide is to help you with your research in Mathematics. I am available for individual or group consultations if you need further assistance regarding using these resources for your assignments and research. I am happy to make an appointment with you to assist with your research and other Library-related issues.  Please feel free to email me

Mathematics Apps for Android and iOS

Algebra Tutor - Walk through step-by-step solutions to see where you made your mistake. See your stats for every problem type (saved across app runs). Work out problems without needing to take notes.

Algeo Graphing Calculator (Android) or Free Graphing Calculator (iOS) - both provide great graphing calculator functions, as well as many scientific calculator operations and constants.

BisMag Calculator 3D - for Android consists of 5 calculators. "Matrix Calculator", a tool to calculate the decompositions and various operations on matrix, "Equation Solver" an instrument capable of solving equations of degree n, "Graphing Calculator" a real scientific graphing calculator can draw graphs in 2D and 3D, "Currency Converter" a currency converter always updated with the new exchange rates and "Unit Converter" a small units converter.

Calca – (iOS) a single app that gives users the benefits of a tape calculator and spreadsheet in an iPhone app. Users can easily set up a variety of variables and equations, as well as work with the app's library of operators for everything from derivatives to trigonometry and complex numbers, while the markdown editor allows you to easily insert notes and explanations right into your worksheet for ease of reference, with iCloud syncing to make it easy to work with multiple devices.

Complete Mathematics App - covers basic and high school maths in a simple way. It categorizes different aspects of math in such a way that you can pick up what you plan to learn and start learning.

MyScript Calculator -Android or iOS - A handwriting recognition system allows users to write down equations and have the app calculate results. Supports basic arithmetic, percent, square roots, trigonometric (and inverse) functions, logarithms and constants such as pi and Euler's number.

GMAT Math Flashcards - includes 425 flash cards written by actual GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test) tutors, a range of questions and solutions to help you practice, and a wide variety of difficulty levels. It also comes complete with “smart algorithms”, meaning it monitors what you’ve already covered and performed well in so it can focus your revision accordingly.

Khan Academy's – (Android or iOS) video tutorials cover various subjects including mathematics. All you need to do is install the app, pick your subject and start watching the tutorial videos. Khan Academy's apps are available for free on iOS. Third-party apps that let you view Khan Academy videos are available on Android and Windows Phone.

Mathematics Dictionary - extends beyond the typical “pure math” terms and definitions to include phrases and meanings that are useful to students studying subjects that are linked to math but not specifically about math.

Math Expert - stores a wide variety of mathematical and physics formulas, it also boasts a special feature called “Tell me what you know”. It lets you fill in all the fields you can remember, and the app will automatically check which calculations are possible.

Math Formulas Free - for “all students in high school or university and [for] engineers to look for any easy or complicated formulas”. Covers a wide range of formulas, including geometry, algebra, differentiation, integration, matrix, and statistics

Math Ref - more than 1,400 formulas, figures, and examples to become a real ace in math, chemistry and physics.

Mathspace – Android or iOS online more than 20, 000 interactive questions and lessons. You can solve math problems and see their step-by-step solution. The app recognizes handwriting, so you can relax and keep writing in your favorite notebook. You’ll get a constructive feedback on your progress and receive the problems of the relevant difficulty level. Make learning algebra, geometry, statistics, etc. more interesting.

Math Tricks - There are 23 tricks in the app and it includes simple addition and multiplication tips to more complicated stuff like finding the square of numbers between 50 and 59 and multiplying any number that ends in a one.

Photomath – (iOS) camera calculator, simply point your camera toward a math problem and Photomath will magically show the result with detailed step-by-step instructions.

Scientific Calculator - For Android users, the app includes a range of functions including trigonometry, logarithms, exponential functions and it includes an equation history so you can see what work you did to reach your results. Equation syntax highlighting, bracket highlighting, and separate modes for scientific and engineering calculations.

Solve4x - iOS app comes with an equation solver where you can either manually type in an equation for it to solve, or you can snap a picture and automatically process the entire equation.

iMathematics - on iOS and Android app, lets you type in equations and solves them for you. you have to enter the equations.

Wolfram Alpha - It’s like having an encyclopedia that you can ask questions and get immediate answers. The app can help with calculus and statistics, solve crossword puzzles and find out about interesting facts.

Mathematics

Mathematics Database

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Academic Search Elite - Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

Business Source Elite - This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Data monitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

ERIC - the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records.

MasterFILE Premier - Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents.

Professional Development Collection - Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

Books from the Collection

Mathematic eBook Collections

eBook Business Collection (EBSCOhost) - EBooks are selected for this collection to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts. The eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of business topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management and entrepreneurship, with additional focus on career growth, personal development, communication and networking.

eBook Education Collection (EBSCOhost) - The eBook Education Collection provides titles ranging from introductory texts on education theory and practice for undergraduates to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars in the Education discipline. Also included are support materials for student teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher education classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behavior and dynamics.

Mathematics (EBSCOhost) - Search and view the full text of eBooks

Open Access eBooks

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

Google Books - the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

HathiTrust Digital Library - is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive  - is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Project Gutenberg  - offers over 53,000 free eBooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Online Books Page - Listing over 2 million free books on the Web

University of California Press - includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Free eBook Download

Open Education Database

University of Cambridge

eBooks with Free Download

Free eBooks & Textbooks