Becoming an Effective Policy Advocate
by Bruce S. Jansson
Publication Date: 2013-01-07
Jansson's BECOMING AN EFFECTIVE POLICY ADVOCATE teaches you the ins and outs of conducting policy-practice in order to prepare you to implement policy reform during your own career. The seventh edition's coverage includes discussion of such events and issues as Barack Obama's presidency, the Occupy Wall Street movement, the Arab Spring, and more. By going beyond the traditional foundational approach to policy, this groundbreaking text helps you develop the skills you need to become an advocate for social change. Available with InfoTrac Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Brooks/Cole Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice
by Dean H. Hepworth; Ronald H. Rooney; Glenda Dewberry Rooney; Kim Strom-Gottfried; Jo Ann Larsen
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The ninth edition of DIRECT SOCIAL WORK PRACTICE: THEORY AND SKILLS prepares you for effective real-world practice. Packed with case examples, illustrations, and proven learning experiences from the authors as well as other social work practitioners, the book integrates the major theories and skills that direct social work practitioners need to understand and master, earning the book its reputation as the classic source for helping students learn direct practice skills. Furthermore, as part of the Brooks/Cole Empowerment Series, the ninth edition is completely up to date and thoroughly integrates the core competencies and recommended practice behaviors outlined in the 2008 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) set by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). Video demonstrations are available on the optional CourseMate website and ensure student learning experiences are as close to real life as possible.
Characteristics of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders of Children and Youth
by James M. Kauffman; Timothy J. Landrum
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
The tenth edition of Characteristics of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders of Children and Youth follows the text's long-standing reputation for trusted research, a teacher-focused presentation, and clear explanations of the concepts related to students with EBD. Streamlined in this edition, the text offers a coherent conceptualization of the problems of students with emotional and behavioral disorders and the common challenges for teachers. Its four-part format examines the background of EBD, the origins of disordered behaviors, types of disorders and the procedures and problems associated with assessment. This edition includes over 150 new references, a unified chapter on assessment, a new emphasis on teaching social skills and a separately available companion casebook filled with cases and interviews from teachers in the field.
Child Welfare and Family Services
by Susan Whitelaw Downs; Lela B. Costin; Ernestine Moore; Emily Jean McFadden
Publication Date: 2007-12-27
This thorough revision of Child Welfare and Family Services reflects current issues, controversies, and innovative practice methods in both family and child services. It provides a strong historical context to current programs, issues, and policy decisions; as well as in-depth information on legal and legislative frameworks. A new chapter on child welfare practice, including an expanded treatment of foster care, provides a foundation for social work interventions with children. In addition, new and updated information covers topics such as; child welfare issues with immigrant families, child outcome measurements, forensic interviewing, advocacy, court documentation, federal legislation, child welfare in a global context, cultural competence, protective/preventive services, day care/child development programs, income security, kinship care, family preservation, and adoption.
Empowerment Series: Research Methods for Social Work
by Allen Rubin; Earl R. Babbie
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
If you're intimidated by the thought of taking research methods, Rubin and Babbie's classic bestseller can help you overcome the fear factor often associated with this course with its reader-friendly presentation of all aspects of the research endeavor. If you're not intimidated, you'll still appreciate the authors' clear and often humorous writing style as well as the book's depth and breadth of coverage. RESEARCH METHODS FOR SOCIAL WORK, Ninth Edition, strikes an optimal balance of quantitative and qualitative research techniques -- illustrating how the two methods complement one another and can be integrated in the same study. Relevant examples from real-world settings highlight the connections between research and social work practice. Comprehensive, friendly, accurate, and integrating the best of technology, this text is widely considered the best text for the research methods course -- and when you read it, you'll see why.
Introduction to Social Work
by Lisa E. Cox; Dennis D. Long; Carolyn J. Tice
Publication Date: 2015-01-21
Introduction to Social Work is a timely new text by a leading team of authors for introductory courses in social work. This book presents a unique framework for understanding the historical development of social work, the key figures influencing social work history, the various practice settings, and the type of work performed.#65533; This book frames the course by social advocacy and presents all the pertinent information under the lens of social workers as client and community activists. This is a timely approach and will give a clear distinction amongst competing books. In recent years, social workers are taking a much more active approach in client and community advocacy. This involves advocacy at a clinical/client level, but also at a community, national and international level. The book begins with a definition of social work as a profession and then goes into defining social welfare and presenting social welfare history. It then presents the advocacy model which is applied to the various chapters in working with special populations. As other competing texts, the book covers working with children and families, the elderly, the physically and mentally disabled, the homeless and the criminal justice systems. However, the book goes beyond the standard coverage by including chapters on global and environmental issues, the housing crisis/economic system, and collective bargaining. These chapters are unique and will#65533;help differentiate the text.#65533;The book is also closely aligned with CSWE's new EPAS standards and incorporates reflective practice. This is an infusion across the curriculum to help students reflect and grow as they progress through the program. This #65533;developmental#65533; approach is seen as a key strength of this proposal. Finally each chapter will begin with an opening case, will contain discussion questions, related organizations and websites and more.
The Practice of Social Work
by Charles Zastrow
Publication Date: 2009-01-27
Comprehensive and focused, THE PRACTICE OF SOCIAL WORK, Ninth Edition provides students with the theoretical and working knowledge they need to become competent social work practitioners. This practical "worktext" covers the general practice of social work, as well as the more specialized areas and counseling theories for work with individuals, families, groups, communities, and organizations.
Rural Social Work
by T. Laine Scales; H. Stephen Cooper (Editor); Calvin L. Streeter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-08-12
A thoughtful text integrating strengths, assets, and capacity-building themes with contemporary issues in rural social work practice Now in its second edition, Rural Social Work is a collection of contributed readings from social work scholars, students, and practitioners presenting a framework for resource building based on the strengths, assets, and capacities of people, a tool essential for working with rural communities. This guide considers methods for social workers to participate in the work of sustaining rural communities. Each chapter features a reading integrating the themes of capacity-building and rural social work; discussion questions that facilitate critical thinking around the chapter; and suggested activities and assignments. Rural Social Work, Second Edition explores: Important practice issues in rural communities, including the challenges of working with stigmatized populations such as gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered people, the homeless, and people living with HIV/AIDS Practice models that hold special promise for rural social workers, including evidence-based practice and community partnership models Newer research tools such as asset mapping, social network analysis, concept mapping, and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Exploring how social workers can integrate the tremendous resources that exist in rural communities into their practice, Rural Social Work, Second Edition provides a solid introduction to the complex, challenging, and rewarding work of building and sustaining rural communities.
The Social Work Skills Workbook
by Barry R. Cournoyer
Publication Date: 2013-03-25
THE SOCIAL WORK SKILLS WORKBOOK gives you the opportunity to get involved in actual hands-on social work practice. Cournoyer's comprehensive workbook/textbook helps you rehearse and practice the core skills needed in contemporary social work practice. Complete with interesting case examples, summaries and skill-building exercises, THE SOCIAL WORK SKILLS WORKBOOK will help you become a more confident, ethical, and effective helper. Available with InfoTrac Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Understanding Human Behavior and the Social Environment
by Charles Zastrow; Karen K. Kirst-Ashman
Publication Date: 2012-02-02
Zastrow and Kirst-Ashman's UNDERSTANDING HUMAN BEHAVIOR AND THE SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT looks at lifespan through the lens of social work theory and practice, covering human development and behavior theories within the context of family, organizational, and community systems. Using a chronological lifespan approach, the book presents separate chapters on biological, psychological, and social impacts at the different lifespan stages with an emphasis on strengths and empowerment. As part of the Brooks/Cole Empowerment Series, this edition is completely up to date and thoroughly integrates the core competencies and recommended practice behaviors outlined in the 2008 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) set by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).