Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Criminal Justice Textbooks
Essentials of Criminal Justice by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Master the ins and outs of the criminal justice system with ESSENTIALS OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE, Eighth Edition. With its cutting-edge high-profile cases, current research, detailed career information, and unique myth-busting theme, this bestseller equips you with a solid understanding of the modern criminal justice system.
Publication Date: 2011-04-14
Balanced, comprehensive, cutting-edge--Siegel's CRIMINOLOGY, Eleventh Edition, presents an in-depth analysis of all areas of criminological theory and crime typologies. This best-selling text provides you with the tools you need to succeed in your criminology course. Studying is made easier with an array of linked learning tools--chapter objectives, end-of-chapter reviews, key concepts, concepts summary tables, and newsworthy examples that help you see how what you are learning applies in the real world.
Criminal Law Today by
Publication Date: 2013-01-28
Bringing criminal law to life. Criminal Law Today, Fifth Edition, brings criminal law to life by relating it to real stories from today's headlines. The text's approach is strongly influenced by the belief that the law has always been, and remains, a vital policy-making tool. As a topic for study and discussion, the nature and life of the law is more important today than ever before. The text highlights the challenges that face the law as it continues to adapt to the needs of a complex and rapidly changing society and features a balanced text/casebook approach that provides a lively introduction to criminal law. Effective in-text learning tools give students the resources they need to master the material presented in the text.
Community-Based Corrections by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The tenth edition of best-selling COMMUNITY-BASED CORRECTIONS delivers essential information on the wide array of punishments and treatment programs that constitute alternatives to prison and jail. Although some offenders need to be incarcerated for public safety reasons, this book argues that the vast majority of convicted offenders can be effectively supervised in the community--using programs that meet the level of risk posed by, and the needs of, each individual. Offering a balanced approach that reflects a strong emphasis on practical and legal matters, the book provides solid coverage of numerous community corrections programs, including probation, parole, electronic monitoring, house arrest, day-treatment centers, boot camps, restitution, and fines.
Publication Date: 2012-12-28
A practical, inside look at the world of corrections. Corrections: An Introduction, Fourth Edition, provides a practical approach to the world of corrections. The text focuses on what people do in corrections and why, as well as the challenges that face contemporary correctional staff and administrators. This unique approach integrates the author's practical experience with the theory, history and policy that students need to know. The text demonstrates both the realities of and reasons behind correctional practices at the local, state, and federal levels. Chapters also present case studies, information on careers, and real examples of situations to provide students with an understanding of the practical aspects of working in corrections.
Essentials of Criminal Justice by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Are you an unsuspecting "victim" of the "CSI effect"? Master the ins and outs of the criminal justice system with ESSENTIALS OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE, Ninth Edition. With its cutting-edge high-profile cases, current research, detailed career information, and unique myth-busting theme, this bestseller equips you with a solid understanding of the modern criminal justice system.
The Juvenile Justice System by
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
A market-leader, The Juvenile Justice System, 7e, follows a true-to-life focus, capturing the essence of what it means to be part of the juvenile justice system through personality highlights, career snapshots, and personal accounts. The text provides a thorough examination of the juvenile justice system through easy-to-understand descriptions and discussions of policy, practice, and procedure in juvenile justice. It covers the entire process from arrest, intake, and adjudicatory hearings, to dispositions, and aftercare. This includes up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of historical, applied, theoretical, and legal information about the juvenile justice system and juvenile delinquency.
Legal Aspects of Corrections Management by
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
This updated third edition of Legal Aspects of Corrections Management provides a current, informative, and reader-friendly discussion of the contemporary legal issues impacting corrections management. Through the use of case law, this text provides readers with a practical understanding of how the First, Fourth, Fifth, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments relate to the day-to-day issues of running a prison, jail, and other corrections programs, such as probation and parole. The authors' combined corrections experience included such positions as General Counsel, Regional Counsel, and Correctional Program Officer, as well as working within corrections facilities. Their work involved advising corrections staff and management on the legal issues associated with policies and procedures. The authors also have extensive teaching experience in corrections law, the criminal justice system, and criminology. The benefits of such experiences are reflected in the comprehensive coverage of topics in this accessible and updated Third Edition. New to the Third Edition: -Cases and statistical information have been thoroughly updated. -Contains many new photos and figures throughout -New sections include: *Religious Land Use and Institutionalized Persons Act of 2000 (RLUIPA) *Double Jeopardy *DNA Collection *Searches of Non-Inmates *Legal Challenges to the Method of Execution *Standards of Employee Conduct *Fair Labor Standards Act *Portal-to-Portal Act *Title VII and Inmate-Created Hostile Work Environment *The Americans with Disabilities Act *Death Penalty for Juvenile Offenders Key Features: -Includes engaging real-world examples of common problems and occurrences in corrections to provide students and practitioners with a good understanding of the legal aspects of corrections management. -Provides insight into the legal steps that should be anticipated in a correctional lawsuit. -Provides an accessible and easy-to-understand collection of Supreme Court and significant lower court rulings on key issues in corrections. With the focus on Supreme Court cases, the text has applicability nationwide. -Focuses on constitutional issues affecting such areas as inmate correspondence, visiting, and religion (First Amendment); search and seizure, privacy (Fourth Amendment); due process (Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments); equal protection (Fourteenth Amendment); and the death penalty, conditions of confinement (cruel and unusual punishment), and health care (Eighth Amendment). -Includes coverage of statutory and administrative law, as well as chapters on probation and parole, jails, juveniles, privatization, and the loss of rights of convicted persons. -Includes examples of relevant documents, such as a civil complaint; a sample presentence investigation report; a listing of inmate rights and responsibilities; of misconduct charges; and of mission statements for departments of corrections.
Probation and Parole by
Publication Date: 2014-03-13
Written from an insider's view, this text provides an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of a field that is undergoing significant change. Probation and Parole: Theory and Practice, 12e looks at the history of the field, how it moved from a focus on treatment/rehabilitation and the indeterminate sentence, toward a model based on control/law enforcement and the determinate sentence. It offers a logical, student-friendly approach. Written by a former community corrections professional, the author provides an insider's view on how these changes affected the roles and responsibilities of probation and parole officers. In contrast to competing texts, the author weaves his experience with the practices of probation and parole agencies throughout the United States to provide a realistic, state-of-the-art view of the field. The use of cognitive behavior therapy and motivation interviewing, "broken windows"/community-based supervision, and the importance of evidence-based practice are examined. Teaching and Learning Experience This book will help students gain an insider's view of the rapidly changing field of community corrections/probation and parole. It provides: Realistic insider's view of the field: Drawn from the author's vast experience as a retired community corrections professional with the NYS Division of Parole, as well as his academic credentials (MSW, PhD) Relevant psychological and sociological theory: Applies social science theory to the practicalities of community corrections Learner-focused, "active learning" with strong pedagogical support: Reinforces chapter information to ensure mastery, and offers extensive pedagogical support for more effective study
Procedures in the Justice System by
Publication Date: 2014-12-24
For courses in criminal procedure From Arrest to Sentencing: A Comprehensive Guide to Criminal Justice Procedures Procedures in the Justice System presents the judicial procedures and related issues involved in criminal cases from arrest to conviction and sentencing. Real cases are used throughout to illuminate key points. Down-to-earth examples, illustrations, and court documents help make students grasp the application of key concepts and practice. The Eleventh Edition has been updated throughout and expanded to include new chapters on police and citizen encounters and interrogation procedures.