Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Collection Description of Addiction Studies
The John Brown Watson Memorial Library System and Addiction Studies Research Center stores over 1,000 print in there collections for research and studies needs in Addiction Studies Program at the university.
Call Number: Available at John Brown Watson Memorial Library John Brown Watson Memorial Library (616.86 H615
Publication Date: 2009-06-15
This text challenges the widely accepted disease model of addiction and supplants that model with a more elaborate explanation of the behavioral economics of addiction, and of motivation in general.
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (362.29 E63a )
Publication Date: 2002-09-16
"Amnesia, " G.H. Ephron's acclaimed debut, introduced forensic neuropsychologist and expert defense witness Dr. Peter Zak. Returning in Addiction, Peter is back in the thick of things at the Pearce Psychiatric Center, coping with patients as well as everyday average administrative nightmares at the hospital, like budgetary concerns, construction, and colleagues' drug trials. And then the worst nightmare of all-the murder of a colleague. Such an event, if it weren't devastating enough, rekindles Peter's memories of the murder of his wife, which left Peter emotionally shattered and isolated; he's only recently begun to emerge. But he can't retreat this time; he must use his expertise to help reconstruct this baffling and intensely personal killing. Peter discovers his friend and former lover, Pearce psychiatrist Channing Temple, dead from a gunshot wound on hospital grounds. Her 16-year-old daughter Olivia is standing over the body, holding a gun. Did Olivia, who has been abusing Ritalin and other drugs, kill her mother? Peter thinks not, but she is quickly arraigned for murder, and he has only two weeks to find the killer before Olivia is sent to prison. In this tense and compelling second installment in a highly lauded series, the talented writing team known as G.H. Ephron tackles the dangers and misconceptions surrounding addiction...and the chaos of murder.
The Addiction Counselor's Desk Reference by
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (362.29186 C775 )
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
The Addiction Counselor's Desk Reference is a comprehensive compilation of information about the full spectrum of addictive disorders, their consequences, and treatment. This unique text includes detailed definitions and practical illustrations of addiction-related terminology, addictive disorders and behaviors, descriptions of treatment models and techniques, as well as lists of relevant websites, government resources, and treatment centers. Addiction professionals will find this information-packed guide to be an invaluable practice tool. The most up-to-date resource of its kind Contains detailed definitions, practical illustrations, relevant websites, government resources, and information about treatment centers Written by a leading authority on addiction research, prevention, and treatment
The Addiction Solution by
Call Number: Available at John Brown Watson Memorial Library John Brown Watson Memorial Library (616.8606 K57 )
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
A revolutionary and empowering paradigm in treating addiction based on groundbreaking new science. For decades addiction has been viewed and treated as a social and behavioral illness, afflicting people of "weak" character and "bad" moral fiber. However, recent breakthroughs in genetic technology have enabled doctors, for the first time, to correctly diagnose the disease and prove that addiction is an inherited, neuro-chemical disease originating in brain chemistry, determined by genetics, and triggered by stress. In their groundbreaking The Addiction Solution, David Kipper, MD, and Steven Whitney distill these exciting findings into a guide for the millions of adults who want to be free from the cycle of addiction, and for their loved ones who want to better understand it and to help. It draws on composite case histories to illustrate how the innovative Personal Recovery Program works by customizing treatment for a diverse group of addicts abusing a wide variety of different substances--from the first day of treatment to its successful resolution. The result is a complete guide to a world made brand-new by this enormous paradigm shift in the treatment of addiction.
Game Addiction by
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (616.85/84 )
Publication Date: 2009-04-27
In November of 2007, an eleven-year-old Vietnamese boy strangled an elderly woman for the equivalent of five U.S. dollars, then buried her body under a thin layer of sand in front of his house. When questioned by police, he said that he needed the money to play online video games. Just a month later, an eight-year-old Norwegian boy saved his younger sister's life by threatening an attacking moose and then feigning death - skills he later revealed to have learned while playing the online game World of Warcraft. As these two instances show, video game addiction can tremendously affect the minds, bodies, and lives of millions of gamers, negatively or positively. This book studies video game addiction from a cross-disciplinary approach, bridging the divide between liberal arts academics and clinical researchers. It approaches the topic of addiction from neither an anti-game nor a pro game stance, instead using accepted research in neuroscience, media studies, developmental psychology, and many other fields to reveal how today's gamers interact with and become consumed by the virtual worlds of their video games.
Internet Addiction by
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (616.8584 I61y )
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Internet Addiction: A Handbook and Guide to Evaluation and Treatment "This book provides cutting-edge coverage by expanding the field to include specific problems such as online gaming, cybersex addiction, and gambling addiction. Its extensive attention to dealing with adolescents is essential, given the rapid rise in media and technology use by both Net Generation young adults and iGeneration teenagers. I am thrilled to have this invaluable, comprehensive, well-written resource for my own work and recommend it to people who need to understand this unique form of addiction." --Dr. Larry Rosen, Past Chair and Professor of Psychology at California State University, Dominguez Hills, author of Rewired: Understanding the iGeneration and the Way They Learn and Me, MySpace, and I: Parenting the Net Generation "Our clients come to us when online pornography, video gaming, social networking, gambling, and surfing create untenable disruptions in their lives. If we do not understand what we are seeing and how to address it, we will not be able to provide the help they need. This book provides the practical information clinicians can use to assess and treat this growing problem." --Hilarie Cash, PhD, coauthor of Video Games and Your Kids: How Parents Stay in Control, and cofounder of reSTART: Internet Addiction Recovery Program "Internet Addiction: A Handbook and Guide to Evaluation and Treatment provides an integrated and current overview of the different types of Internet addiction-gaming addiction, gambling addiction, and cybersex addiction. The authors deserve ample praise in providing such a comprehensive and informative guide for Internet addiction." --Ran Tao, MD, Professor and Director, and Xiuqin Huang, MD, Associate Professor, Treatment Center for Internet Addiction, General Hospital of Beijing Military Region, China The first empirically informed reference for defining, assessing, diagnosing, and treating problematic Internet use Comprehensive and timely, Internet Addiction explores: Validated assessment tools to differentiate normal from compulsive patterns of computer and online usage The most addictive or problematic online activities Epidemiology and subtypes of Internet addiction such as online pornography, Internet gambling, and online gaming Current theories on the risk factors associated with the development of an addictive disorder related to Internet usage Evidence-based treatment strategies for helping clients of various ages, taking into account main presenting problems and individual situations and circumstances International in scope and empirically based, the cultural and global impact of this subject is discussed, introducing practitioners to the latest clinical implications, assessment methods, and treatment approaches in working with clients suffering from this emerging addictive disorder.
Internet and Social Media Addiction by
Call Number: Available at John Brown Watson Memorial Library John Brown Watson Memorial Library (616.8584 N163 )
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Researchers believe that between one and eight percent of people who use the Internet become addicted to it. Through objective overviews, primary sources, and full-color illustrations this title examines: Is Internet and Social Media Addiction a Serious Problem? What Causes Online Addiction? How Do Online Addictions Affect Health and Well-Being? and How Can People Overcome Internet and Social Media Addiction?
Neurobiology of Addiction by
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (362.29 K75
Publication Date: 2005-11-29
Neurobiology of Addiction is conceived as a current survey and synthesis of the most important findings in our understanding of the neurobiological mechanisms of addiction over the past 50 years. The book includes a scholarly introduction, thorough descriptions of animal models of addiction, and separate chapters on the neurobiological mechanisms of addiction for psychostimulants, opioids, alcohol, nicotine and cannabinoids. Key information is provided about the history, sources, and pharmacokinetics and psychopathology of addiction of each drug class, as well as the behavioral and neurobiological mechanism of action for each drug class at the molecular, cellular and neurocircuitry level of analysis. A chapter on neuroimaging and drug addiction provides a synthesis of exciting new data from neuroimaging in human addicts - a unique perspective unavailable from animal studies. The final chapters explore theories of addiction at the neurobiological and neuroadaptational level both from a historical and integrative perspective. The book incorporates diverse finding with an emphasis on integration and synthesis rather than discrepancies or differences in the literature. #65533; Presents a unique perspective on addiction that emphasizes molecular, cellular and neurocircuitry changes in the transition to addiction #65533; Synthesizes diverse findings on the neurobiology of addiction to provide a heuristic framework for future work #65533; Features extensive documentation through numerous original figures and tables that that will be useful for understanding and teaching
Understanding Addiction by
Call Number: Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (362.29 H496u )
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Gives addicts, family members, even employers a concise overview of this complex affliction.
Understanding Exercise Addiction by
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (616.86 J68 )
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Teen Eating Disorder Prevention Books provide in-depth examinations of eating disorders, including their causes, symptoms, and treatment. The series gives critical information about developing sensible eating habits and a positive body image while encouraging teens to build self-esteem and practice healthy living. Exercise is healthy and great fun, but it can be overdone. Some teens, obsessed with real or imagined problems with their physical appearance, don't know when to stop exercising. This book explains both the benefits and dangers of exercise, what problems exercise can and cannot solve, and how to put together a balanced workout that won't threaten your health.
Working Together Against Drug Addiction by
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (362.2917 C619, 1996 )
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Abuse of methamphetamine, crack, and other drugs is resulting in addiction, crime, and suicide among teens. Arm your students with the information and practical solutions they need to fight drug addiction in their communities.
Drugs, Addiction, and the Brain by
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (616.86 K75 )
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Drugs, Addiction, and the Brain explores the molecular, cellular, and neurocircuitry systems in the brain that are responsible for drug addiction. Common neurobiological elements are emphasized that provide novel insights into how the brain mediates the acute rewarding effects of drugs of abuse and how it changes during the transition from initial drug use to compulsive drug use and addiction. The book provides a detailed overview of the pathophysiology of the disease. The information provided will be useful for neuroscientists in the field of addiction, drug abuse treatment providers, and undergraduate and postgraduate students who are interested in learning the diverse effects of drugs of abuse on the brain. Full-color circuitry diagrams of brain regions implicated in each stage of the addiction cycle Actual data figures from original sources illustrating key concepts and findings Introduction to basic neuropharmacology terms and concepts Introduction to numerous animal models used to study diverse aspects of drug use. Thorough review of extant work on the neurobiology of addiction
Call Number: Available at John Brown Watson Memorial Library John Brown Watson Memorial Library (616.86 A224h )
Publication Date: 2007-03-06
This companion book to the HBO documentary of the same name sheds light on the hidden American epidemic of addiction. Blending compelling personal narratives with statistics and expert opinion, all gleaned from over two years of research and reporting, ADDICTION offers a comprehensive and provocative look at the impact of chemical dependency on addicts, their loved ones, society, and the economy. Breaking the stigma that addicts are simply weak and immoral, it delves into new brain research proving that drugs and alcohol change the chemical composition of addicts' brains, making it veritably impossible for them to quit. The nation's top experts persuasively argue that the time has come for the blame to stop and the healing to begin. ADDICTION also features material not included in the documentary: testimonials, original graphics and images, additional elaboration on theories and treatments of addiction, and more. Featuring a foreword by Sheila Nevins, the president of Documentary and Family Programming at HBO, an afterward by the best-selling author Susan Cheever, and the writing of David Sheff, this book is essential reading for anyone who has been impacted by what is now realized to be a very real and widespread disease.
Learning the Language of Addiction Counseling by
Call Number: Available at Addiction Studies Research Center Addition Studies Resource Center (616.8606 M648, 1999 )
Publication Date: 1998-11-23
Miller (Appalachian State U.) provides an overview of the field for undergraduate and graduate students and clinicians who are new to the field of addiction counseling or who would like to review some addiction counseling basics. Topics include the assessment process, assessment and diagnosis of du