Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer Science Teacher by
Publication Date: 2017-08-24
Increased focus on computer science has recently brought about the new national curriculum in computing.This book explores the role of Computer Science Teacher in a secondary school environment. An overview of secondary school computing is covered, along with what the role encompasses, the attributes, knowledge and skills required to be a success and useful standards, tools, methods and techniques you can employ. Case studies and quotes from schools and current teachers are also included.
Learning Science Through Computer Games and Simulations by
Publication Date: 2011-04-12
At a time when scientific and technological competence is vital to the nation's future, the weak performance of U.S. students in science reflects the uneven quality of current science education. Although young children come to school with innate curiosity and intuitive ideas about the world around them, science classes rarely tap this potential. Many experts have called for a new approach to science education, based on recent and ongoing research on teaching and learning. In this approach, simulations and games could play a significant role by addressing many goals and mechanisms for learning science: the motivation to learn science, conceptual understanding, science process skills, understanding of the nature of science, scientific discourse and argumentation, and identification with science and science learning. To explore this potential, Learning Science: Computer Games, Simulations, and Education, reviews the available research on learning science through interaction with digital simulations and games. It considers the potential of digital games and simulations to contribute to learning science in schools, in informal out-of-school settings, and everyday life. The book also identifies the areas in which more research and research-based development is needed to fully capitalize on this potential. Learning Science will guide academic researchers; developers, publishers, and entrepreneurs from the digital simulation and gaming community; and education practitioners and policy makers toward the formation of research and development partnerships that will facilitate rich intellectual collaboration. Industry, government agencies and foundations will play a significant role through start-up and ongoing support to ensure that digital games and simulations will not only excite and entertain, but also motivate and educate.
Advanced Data Management by
Publication Date: 2015-10-16
Advanced data management has always been at the core of efficient database and information systems. Recent trends like big data and cloud computing have aggravated the need for sophisticated and flexible data storage and processing solutions. This book provides a comprehensive coverage of the principles of data management developed in the last decades with a focus on data structures and query languages. It treats a wealth of different data models and surveys the foundations of structuring, processing, storing and querying data according these models. Starting off with the topic of database design, it further discusses weaknesses of the relational data model, and then proceeds to convey the basics of graph data, tree-structured XML data, key-value pairs and nested, semi-structured JSON data, columnar and record-oriented data as well as object-oriented data. The final chapters round the book off with an analysis of fragmentation, replication and consistency strategies for data management in distributed databases as well as recommendations for handling polyglot persistence in multi-model databases and multi-database architectures. While primarily geared towards students of Master-level courses in Computer Science and related areas, this book may also be of benefit to practitioners looking for a reference book on data modeling and query processing. It provides both theoretical depth and a concise treatment of open source technologies currently on the market.
Information Modelling and Knowledge Bases XXIII by
Publication Date: 2012-02-15
Information modelling and knowledge bases have become hot topics, not only in academic communities concerned with information systems and computer science, but also wherever information technology is applied in the world of business. This book presents the proceedings of the 21st European-Japanese Conference on Information Modelling and Knowledge Bases (EJC 2011), held in Tallinn, Estonia, in June 2011.
Top 100 Computer and Technical Careers by
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Jobs requiring computer and technical skills continue to grow. Explore 100 careers focused on computers and other technologies, assess which ones match your skills, and get the job you want quickly with this authoritative resource. In one time-saving volume, job seekers and students find everything they need to research careers; learn about pay, outlook, education, and skills needed for the 100 jobs; match their personal skills to the jobs; and take seven steps to land a good job in less time. A newly updated special book-within-a-book section describes the seven steps that cut job search time in half and includes sample targeted resumes by professional resume writers. A new, easy-to-use assessment matches your personal skills with the characteristics of the occupations described in the book.