Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mentoring in Nursing by
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
This book successfully combines scholarly work with practical, easy-to-understand advice that has appeal even beyond nursing and healthcare. It provides a view of mentoring that is much deeper than most readers would expect. The connection the author makes between empowering mentors and mentees and successful organizations provides readers with a sense of hope for improvement and change in the workplace environment. Bravo "--Doody's Medical Reviews Thoroughly updated with new content and wide revisions, this award-winning text provides educators and practitioners with the perspectives and skills they need to bring the next generation of educators, researchers, and clinicians to the forefront of nursing--whether in academia, the hospital or health care facility, and/or through their professional nursing organization. Completely new content includes: Best practices in mentoring and menteeing Real-life exemplars of effective mentoring Discussion of newest research on mentoring, precepting, and coaching Relationship of mentoring culture and healthy environments in health care Creating collaborative mentorships with the interdisciplinary health team Working across generations in nursing: mentor to mentee Maximizing effective leadership through mentoring Future implications for mentoring in the profession Annotated bibliography of key references Topics that have been revised include perceptions of definitions and components of the mentoring process, empowering versus enabling others, the mentor and mentee perspective of mentoring experience, models and strategies of different types of mentoring, creating a mentoring culture, strategies of mentoring for personal and professional improvement, and measurement of mentoring outcomes. Key Features: Presents case studies of effective mentoring relationships Provides numerous and varied mentoring strategies and models Includes suggestions for measuring outcomes of mentoring Offers best practices in mentoring, precepting, and coaching
Rural Nursing by
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
The fourth edition of the only text to focus on nursing concepts, theory, and practice in rural settings continues to provide comprehensive and evidence-based information to nursing educators, researchers, and policy-makers. The book presents a wealth of new information that expands upon the rural nursing theory base and greatly adds to our understanding of current rural health care issues. It retains seminal chapters that consider theory and practice, client and cultural perspectives, response to illness, and community roles in sustaining good health. Authored by contributors from the United States, Canada, and Australia, the text examines rural health issues from a national and international perspective. The 4th edition presents new chapters on: Border health issues Palliative care Research applications of rural nursing theory Resilience in rural elders Vulnerabilities Health disparities Social disparities in health Use of rural hospitals in nursing education Establishing nursing education following disaster Public health accreditation in rural and frontier counties Developing the workforce to meet the needs for rural practice, research, and theory development Key Features: Provides a single-source reference on rural nursing concepts, theory, and practice Covers critical issues regarding nursing practice in sparsely populated regions Presents a national and international focus Updates content and includes a wealth of new information Designed for nurse educators and students at the graduate level
Toxic Nursing by
Nurse Managers and nurse administrators at all levels are frequently confronted by the need to manage employee issues arising from interpersonal relationships. These include: conflict (relational Aggression or covert bullying), cynicism (negative work attitudes), and calamity (drama and overt antagonism). As a much needed follow up to When Nurses Hurt Nurses (STTI, 2011), this book offers numerous concrete strategies for common employee challenges that nurse supervisors face.
Nursing Diagnosis by
Publication Date: 2012-07-02
Now in its 14th edition, this respected resource offers definitive guidance on key elements of nursing diagnosis, its role in the nursing process, and its application to clinical practice. Section 1 thoroughly explains the role of nursing diagnosis in the nursing process and in care planning. Section 2 offers a comprehensive A-to-Z guide to current nursing diagnoses, including the most recent diagnoses approved by NANDA International. Section 3 focuses on collaborative problems. Nursing Interventions Classifications (NIC) and Nursing Outcomes Classifications (NOC) are listed for every NANDA-I diagnosis. Key features such as Author's Notes and Errors in Diagnostic Statements help the nurse to understand the concept behind the diagnosis, differentiate one diagnosis from another, and avoid diagnostic errors.
Nursing Leadership by
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership. This second edition has been expanded to encompass 80 new entries and revisions or updates to all original entries. It provides an extensive overview of current leadership issues including theories, characteristics, and skills required of nurse leaders in today's complex health care system. Highly respected contributors include Claire Fagan, Beverly Malone (NLN CEO), Polly Bednash (AACN CEO), Patricia Benner, and many others. For ease of use this new edition contains both alphabetic and thematic indexes, extensive cross-referencing, and print and web references for each entry. The new edition features: Thematic list of entries in addition to alphabetic index An extensive overview on salient nursing leadership issues, themes, characteristics, and current and future developments A "legacies" section on nursing luminaries throughout history Over 80 new entries and updates and revisions of original entries Extensive cross-referencing and print and web resources for each entry
Fast Facts for the Student Nurse by
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
"This guide by Stabler-Haas sets itself apart in its direct, kind, and professional tone...Notably, it concludes with chapters about success beyond graduation...Recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Written with candor and good humor, this Fast Facts guide for students in diploma, AD, BSN, and RN-BSN level programs features the information that nursing students really need to know in order to achieve excellence up to and beyond the NCLEX. Incorporating many real-life examples (drawn from more than 1,000 students taught by the author), Fast Facts for the Student Nurse clarifies common issues such as choosing a major, work/study arrangements, and difficulties associated with living at home. It discusses the NCLEX, licensure, continuing education, and graduate education, and helps readers identify what type of learner they are and how to capitalize on their strengths. Checklists to facilitate important decision making and charts and tables with "hot topics" are also included. Key Features: Provides, in Fast Facts format, all of the information new and experienced nursing students need to know for classroom and clinical success Helps readers identify their learning style and capitalize on strengths Covers the NCLEX, licensure, continuing education routes, graduate education, and how to survive the first year of practice
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education by
Publication Date: 2013-02-28
Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase This book should be required reading for all educators It is necessary for educators to keep pace with the changing dynamics of learners and this book provides insights into how to achieve this goal."--Doody's Medical Reviews Praise for the Third Edition: "Without question, this book should be on every nurse educator's bookshelf." --Nursing Education Perspectives The "gold standard" for evaluation and testing in nursing education, this revision helps educators measure and evaluate the level of learning that their students have achieved and presents fundamental concepts of what constitutes reliable tools and rubrics for measuring students' classroom and clinical performance. It describes how to develop a test blueprint and to assemble, administer, write, and score all types of tests and test questions, and analyze tests and test performance for both classroom and clinical evaluation. It includes guidelines for preventing cheating, and for conducting productive posttest discussions. The book offers strategies for evaluating higher cognitive levels of learning and for evaluating written assignments with sample scoring rubrics. The book explores important social, ethical, and legal issues associated with testing and evaluation. The text meets NLN Certification Competency #3: Use Assessment & Evaluation Strategies (15% of CNE Test BluePrint). New to the Fourth edition: Expanded coverage of essential concepts in assessment, evaluation, and testing in nursing classroom and clinical education A new chapter on online testing, with and without an online teaching platform such as BlackBoard, standardized online testing packages, establishing valid online-based testing, and related issues Current research, references, and new examples Stronger focus on evaluating higher level cognitive functions Additional test preparation for NCLEX and other certification tests Development of test items that prepare students for licensure and certification exams, including discussion of innovative items being piloted for possible use on the NCLEX Expanded coverage on establishing rubrics for assessing written assignments New information on using simulation for "High Stakes Testing" Online teaching guide that includes PowerPoint slides, sample core syllabus, and learner activities