Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Gerontology : Making Meaningful Places in Old Age by
Publication Date: New York : Springer Publishing Company. 2013
'[This book] addresses issues on both sides of the Atlantic; examines the theoretical underpinnings of environmental gerontology...; and provides useful practical applications and guiding principles....Recommended.'--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic LibrariesThe environments in which people live out their later lives have a strong impact on their identity and provide opportunities for nourishing social interactions. This volume translates the insights derived from contemporary research on residential environments and public spaces that enhance well-being into practical recommendations for the design of such beneficial community environments
Adult-Gerontology Practice Guidelines by
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
' Because of the way it is organized, this book meets the needs of both novice and experienced advance practice nurses. Each chapter defines the problem, how often it occurs, and what leads to the problem. To aid in assessment, the book includes the physical examination landmarks as well as diagnostic tests that might be needed. A plan of care is offered with several different alternatives for treatment and then notes what type of follow-up is needed. This would be a great resource for anyone working in the field of geriatrics...Score: 92 - 4 Stars ' ' Carol Ann Siem, MSN, MU Sinclair School of Nursing, Doody's Reviews The first book to encompass adult-gerontology practice guidelines for primary care, this comprehensive resource is designed as a text and reference for health care practitioners specializing as adult-gerontology nurse practitioners (A-GNP). It provides current national practice guidelines for delivering high-quality primary health care to adult, older adult, and pregnant patients in the outpatient setting. The book delivers chapters that focus on the older adult person, including a chapter describing the major effects of aging on each body system. For quick and easy access, practice guidelines are organized primarily by body system, disorders listed alphabetically within each body system, and each disorder presented in a consistent format throughout. With an emphasis on history taking, the physical exam, and key features of the aging population, each of the more than 240 disorder guidelines include definition, incidence, pathogenesis, predisposing factors, common complaints, other signs and symptoms, subjective data, physical exam, diagnostic tests, differential diagnoses, plan of care, health promotion including dietary recommendations, follow-up guidelines, and tips for consultation/referral. Particularly useful features include "Practice Pointers" highlighting crucial information for a disorder and bold-faced "Alerts" from experienced practitioners. The book also describes 19 procedures commonly used within the office or clinic setting. More than 140 Patient Teaching Guides are included (perforated for ease of use) as well as in digital format for customizing and printing. These include important information for patients about safety and medications. Appendices feature normal lab values and dietary guidelines. Key Features: Focuses specifically on the adult, older adult, and pregnant patient populations Delivers consistent presentation of more than 240 disorders by body system for ease of access Step-by-step review of 19 commonly used procedures "Practice Pointers" indicate highly important care points Includes more than 140 extensive Patient Teaching Guides for "take home" information Useful as a review text when preparing to take the A-GNP certification course and exam
Annual Review of Gerontology and Geriatrics, Volume 35, 2015 : Subjective Aging: New Developments and Future Directions by
How do individuals perceive the experience of aging? Can this perception predict such developmental outcomes as functional health or mortality? The 35th volume of ARGG encompasses the most current and fruitful research findings about the subjective experience of aging and describes how they fit within a theoretical framework. It reflects a new and advanced stage of development in the discipline of subjective aging and will be a building block for future theoretical and empirical work in this area of study.The book integrates presentations from a series of recent workshops attended by an international cadre of subjective aging researchers, the results of several longitudinal studies from across the globe, and theoretical propositions from studies that are ongoing.
Gerontology Nursing Case Studies by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Designated a Doody's Core Title This is an excellent teaching guide and resource manual for instructors, gerontological nursing students, and practicing nurses and social workers who wish to learn more about geriatric concerns and care. It will be kept by nursing students long after they graduate as a guide to resources that will be valuable throughout their nursing careers. As a home care nurse working mainly with the geriatric community, I found the resources helpful in my practice. As an instructor, I found the book to be a very useful guide for teaching geriatrics." Score: 90, 4 Stars. -Doody's Medical Reviews Donna Bowles's Gerontology Nursing Case Studies is a unique volume that effectively addresses the lack of gerontology case studies for use with undergraduate nursing students. Case studies are a pedagogically powerful approach to active learning that offer opportunities to apply content to clinical practice."--The Gerontologist The case narrative approach of this book promotes active learning that is more meaningful to students (and practicing nurses) and more likely to increase the transfer of evidence into practice. An excellent resource for faculty (staff educators) to facilitate critical learning skills." Liz Capezuti, PhD, RN, FAAN Dr. John W. Rowe Professor in Successful Aging Co-Director, Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing New York University College of Nursing This is a terrific text that provides nurses and other health care providers with] good basic information about clinical problems and challenges we face in providing care to older adults. It should be considered required reading in all undergraduate programs. --From the foreword by Barbara Resnick, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP Professor, University of Maryland School of Nursing Sonya Ziporkin Gershowitz Chair in Gerontology At the heart of this unique volume are 100 case studies of older adults that address nearly every issue-physical, mental, and psychosocial-that may confront health care providers who work with the aging population. These case studies, culled from contributors with several centuries' worth of combined nursing expertise, are designed to guide nursing students in the development of interventions that encompass both complementary and alternative health strategies. Exercises interspersed throughout each case study are designed to foster critical thinking and decision-making skills. These case narratives provide a holistic approach to problem solving in regard to political, ethical, and legal issues; loss and end-of-life issues; elder abuse; depression, addiction and suicide; self-esteem and family relationships; sexuality; age-related health issues; cognitive impairment; cultural diversity as it relates to aging; pain management; and sleep disturbances. The volume also addresses such contemporary psychosocial issues as gambling addiction, hoarding behavior, emergency preparedness, the aging driver, and long-distance caregiving. Key Features: Provides 100 evidence-based case studies Cultivates development of critical thinking and decision-making skills Features realistic, contemporary scenarios Designed for use across the gerontology nursing curriculum Geared for AACN and NLN Accreditation Organized according to the needs of actual clinical settings
Global Aging H/C by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book is exemplary in amassing demographic, policy, and sociopsychological data from around the world to refute both premises: that countries' aging is not occurring in developing nations and that aging of the population presents intractable predicaments. The content of the book is rich with current information seldom accumulated into one source. For a scholar of aging studies, the topics are comprehensive, including demographics, political systems, health and long-term care provision, employment/retirement, and formal and informal support systems. Structurally, the book adds value with the inclusion of Web resources and a robust index. The design is conducive for a classroom setting by incorporating discussion questions and key words at the end of each chapter." -- Dr. Carol A. Gosselink, PsycCritiques Using a comparative, cross-national perspective, Global Aging: Comparative Perspectives on Aging and the Life Course explores the major topics in social gerontology worldwide and the demands that the aging population places on a society. This comprehensive and timely guide includes contributions from international gerontology scholars and illustrates both universal and socioculturally unique aspects of aging across nations. It is organized thematically for ease of use and includes an abundance of photographs and illustrations to highlight key points. Key features: Discussions on various nations' policies and programs designed to meet the unique needs of an older population An essay on pension and income maintenance policies and programs An analysis of the role of local and national governments, as well as non-governmental organizations, in serving older adults Case studies on specific aspects of aging: family life, caregiving, policies and politics, health and long-term care, and work and retirement The most current demographic data on aging around the world