Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library Sociology LibGuide created for your research needs! We hope these linked resources will provide helpful information for your classroom assignments. In this libguide you will find links to eBooks, eJournals, articles, videos, course reserve items, and writing guides. The libguide has also been linked to the Sociology Department’s Homepage.
If you need any additional information please call or email your library liaison listed on this page. Faculty may also make suggestions for additional links for this libguide to help students be successful.
John Brown Watson Memorial Library System
The John Brown Watson Memorial Library System includes the main library and five satellites. The library system is the heart of the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB) because it serves the curricular and research needs of students, faculty, and staff across the curriculum, with innovative spaces for collaboration on multi-media projects, exemplary resources, and a phenomenal staff. The library system is a member of several consortia groups that purchase discounted resources for availability throughout the state or the university system. The library also participates in document delivery services, i.e. interlibrary loan services, to acquire resources from other statewide or national libraries.
UAPB Sociology Department
Course Reserve books
American Foreign Policy since World War II by
Publication Date: 2009-07-07
As distinctive as it has been, the Bush administration′s foreign policy still fits within Hook and Spanier′s coherent theme of American exceptionalism. Chances are that the Obama administration, no matter how different it may be, will also share this orientation in important ways, thereby giving your students the historical context they need to understand not just the past eight years, but the full history of American foreign policy since World War II. This revision to their classic text is much more than a simple update. Careful editing and streamlining of key chapters keep the book relevant and accessible, while placing recent events in their proper perspective. Key revisions include: - Previously separate chapters on U.S. relations with the developing world and U.S. involvement in Vietnam have been combined to show the collision of East- West and North-South relations. - Chapters on the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan are thoroughly updated. - Full treatment is given to the current economic crisis. - A new concluding chapter makes note of the changing of the guard from Bush to the Obama administration, and looks ahead to Obama′s leadership, strategic goals, and policy initiatives. Students will also find abundant resources in new or updated tables, figures, and maps, as well as a robust set of appendixes and end-of-chapter materials, including a chronology of world events and annotated web resources.
Applied Social Research by
Publication Date: 2013-03-06
You may be wondering why you need to study research methods to prepare yourself for a career in human services. This accessible text will help you to better understand the connection between human service research and practice. APPLIED SOCIAL RESEARCH brings the subject to life and explores how recent innovations in technology are affecting research methods and results. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Basics of Social Research by
Publication Date: 2011-07-26
Preparing students to do research and understand what research can do. Basics of Social Research helps students understand what research can and cannot do, become better consumers of research, and learn why properly conducted research is important. This text teaches students to be better consumers of research results and understand how the research enterprise works, preparing them to conduct small research projects. Upon completing this text, students will gain an awareness of the capabilities and restrictions of research, and learn why properly conducted research is important. Using clear, accessible language and examples from real research, this text discusses both qualitative and quantitative approaches to social research, emphasizing the benefits of combining various approaches. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers should be able to: Recognize that social research is simultaneously a very important enterprise and one that is not beyond you - you can understand it Become better consumers and understand what research can and cannot do Learn how to properly conducted research Acquire a foundation for further learning about doing research and understand that this activity requires dedication, creativity, and mature judgment
Contemporary Sociological Theory and Its Classical Roots by
Publication Date: 2012-09-06
Contemporary Social Theory and Its Classical Roots: The Basics is ideal for those looking for a brief, yet accessible text on sociological theory. An affordable alternative to a standard text, this volume is concise, comprehensive, informative, engaging, includes a range of pedagogical features, and it appeals to a wide range of students. The 4th edition has added new sections on W.E.B. Du Bois, Queer theory, and key concepts and applications boxes on a variety of contemporary social theories.
Contemporary Sociological Theory and Its Classical Roots by
Publication Date: 2009-09-29
This text is the teaching solution for instructors who need a brief, accessible text for sociological theory. An affordable alternative to a standard text, this volume includes a range of pedagogical features; it is concise yet comprehensive, informative, and engaging for a wide range of students.
Essence of Anthropology by
Publication Date: 2015-02-23
Filled with current examples, THE ESSENCE OF ANTHROPOLOGY brings to life anthropology's key concepts and their great relevance to today's complex world. You'll learn about the varied ways culture helps humans adapt to face the challenges of existence, the connection between human culture and human biology, and the impact of globalization on peoples and cultures around the world. New Digging into Anthropology activities provide a hands-on approach to anthropological methods. Furthermore, the book is packed with learning tools that demonstrate major concepts, offer interesting examples of anthropology's relevance to daily life, and guide your study to help you retain what you read.
International Relations by
Publication Date: 1978-03-01
ALERT: Before you purchase, check with your instructor or review your course syllabus to ensure that you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, including customized versions for individual schools, and registrations are not transferable. In addition, you may need a CourseID, provided by your instructor, to register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products. Packages Access codes for Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products may not be included when purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson; check with the seller before completing your purchase.
Publication Date: 2015-03-20
For courses in Introductory Sociology. Inspire each student's sociological imagination. Authored collaboratively by members of the NYU Sociology Department, The Sociology Project 2.0 draws on the collective wisdom of expert faculty to reveal how individuals are shaped by the contexts in which they live and act. Organized around the big questions in every subfield of the discipline.
Social Problems by
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Social Science by
Publication Date: 2013-10-24
Social Science, 15/e, approaches social science from a common-sense perspective, rather than from a conventional social science angle. Readers will see how seemingly diverse disciplines intermingle ¿ anthropology and economics, for example. In the end, students will be able to approach social issues with unbiased problem-solving skills.
Sociological Theory by
Publication Date: 2007-07-23
Spanning the history of sociological theory from its inception to updated theoretical developments since the sixth edition, this text integrates key theories with biographical sketches of theorists, placing readings in context and helping students understand the original works of classical authors.
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
SOCIOLOGY: THE ESSENTIALS, Ninth Edition, uses the theme of debunking myths to look behind the facades of everyday life, encourage you to question common assumptions, and help you better understand how society is constructed and sustained. This thorough yet streamlined text provides exceptional coverage of diversity, including social factors such as age, religion, sexual orientation, and region of residence, in addition to race, ethnicity, class, and gender. Updated with coverage of the latest findings, trends, and themes, this new edition's reader-friendly presentation teaches you the concepts, methods, and research that will sharpen your "sociological imagination" and help you view the world from a different perspective.
Statistics for the Terrified by
Publication Date: 2006-08-29
Written in a personal and informal style, this book helps readers make the leap from apprehension to comprehension. Statistics For The Terrified4/e teaches students how to use SPSS, one of the most widely used statistical software packages. This book successfully encourages readers grasp the meaning of basic statistical concepts and to solve statistical problems through a unique blend of humor, logic, and common sense. Examples problems are provided using SPSS for every key concept along with step-by-step assistance, without the need for lengthy theoretical discussions.
The Urban World by
Publication Date: 2014-06-30
Long the leading text in urban sociology, The Urban World continues to provide a comprehensive, balanced, up-to-date, and cross-cultural look at cities and suburbs around the world. Offering a twenty-first-century view of the changing urban scene, the text covers evolving urban patterns andthe changing nature of urban life. Combining expert scholarship with an accessible style that students appreciate, J. John Palen is one of America's leading urban sociologists. He travels the world and adds fresh insights, gleaned firsthand, to each edition of his text. Featuring an exceptionallyclear writing style, The Urban World is also enhanced by such enduring features as robust academic content and an instructor-friendly organization. The book is accompanied by a comprehensive test bank and PowerPoint-based slides for qualified instructors.
Associate Library Director