The newly created Library Archives and Special Collections at the John Brown Watson Memorial Library houses relevant historical information pertaining to Branch Normal College, AM&N College, and the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.
Resources Available
Most resources currently housed in the Library Archives and Special Collections include: university historical administration documents, photographs, slides, African American Collection, Arkansas Collection, various paintings, donated and purchased artifacts, vertical files, and other university historical print resources. The current resources are being inventoried to determine relevance to support faculty and student research needs. Once the current resources are inventoried; the goal is to request historical university information from university departments and alumni that may be relevant for the Library Archives and Special Collections. Our future goal is to create a digital repository for the department to house more university Archives and Special Collections.
Materials Usage
All visitors must sign in on the materials use log book and guidelines for use form. For further research beyond the initial visit, users may complete an Archives and Special Collections Research Form for assistance. This form assists the staff in determining the nature of the patron’s research needs. A research file will be created for patrons needing extensive materials from the Archives and Special Collections.
Food and drinks are not allowed within the Archives and Special Collections area. No smoking or gum chewing is allowed in Archives and Special Collections area. Patrons must leave bags, coats and other personal items not used for research gathering at the Archives and Special Collections service desk. For copyright purposes, any types of photographic devices and or scanners are not allowed in the Archives and Special Collections area.
Archives and Special Collections are to be used only within the Archives and Special Collections area with staff supervision. Ink pens are not to be used near Archives and Special Collections materials. Please only use pencils when taking notes. No writing on Archives and Special Collections materials is allowed at any time. Archives and Special Collections items may be rare or fragile, the Library reserves the right to limit the use of archived materials based on the physical condition of the item(s). Materials are not available for browsing, but will be retrieved upon request. Some items may require the use of cloth gloves for handling. Do not remove items from protective covers at any time.
The number of Archives and Special Collections materials used at one time is limited. All materials should be kept in the order as received. Give all Archives and Special Collections materials to the staff in the Archives and Special Collections area only. Patrons must allow Archives and Special Collections staff to inspect all materials returned after use before exiting the Archives and Special Collections area. All copying is performed by the Archives and Special Collections’ staff.
Researchers are always advised to call ahead of time to discuss their research project. An appointment is encouraged so the staff can assist researchers more effectively. The library hours for the Acquisitions and Library Archives and Special Collections are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday – Friday. Call us if you have any questions about acquisitions or Archives and Special Collections or if you would like to donate items to the library Archives and Special Collections at (870) 575-8942.
Copyright Law
The Archives and Special Collections materials are for reference use only. The Title 17 U.S. Code copyright law outlines photocopying and reproduction of copyrighted materials. Individual researchers may be provided copies of copyrighted materials for personal study. Such copies may not be further reproduced, published, broadcast, displayed, offered for sale, transferred to others, or deposited without a written statement from the university and the copyright holder.
For additional library use guidelines see Library Patron Conduct Policy.
John Brown Watson Memorial Library System
Archives and Special Collections
Guidelines for Use of Archives and Special Collections Materials Form
I, ____________________________________________________, have read and agree with the Library Archives and Special Collections Policies and Procedures for Archives and Special Collections Materials Use. I understand that any damage to the archived materials used while in my care may result in fee charges and or suspension of use of the library Archives and Special Collections materials in the future. I also understand and agree with the copyright laws specified use of any archived materials. I understand that failing to comply with the policies and procedures of the library Archives and Special Collections may result in the suspension of my ability to use all materials in the future and could result in legal action from the university and or copyright holders of the materials.
____________________________________________________ ____/___/____
Researcher’s signature Date
John Brown Watson Memorial Library System
Archives and Special Collections
Archives and Special Collections Request Form
Date:______________________________________
Requester:__________________________________________________________________________
Department:________________________________________________________________________
Address:____________________________________________________________________________
Telephone:____________________________________________________________________________
E-mail:_______________________________________________________________________________
Archives and Special Collections Materials Requested:
______________________________________________________________________________________
Request Intake by: ____________________________________________________Date:___/___/____
Requester Received Materials:______________________________________________Date:__/__/___
Completed by: ________________________________________________________Date:___/___/____