Education: Textbooks

Note: This is the loose-leaf version of Child Development and Education and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText or MyEducationLab. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with the loose-leaf version, use ISBN 0134013530. To order MyEducationLab(R) with Pearson eText packaged with the loose-leaf version, use ISBN 0134229509. Topical, evidence-based, and applied Written by a developmentalist and an educational psychologist, Child Development and Education bridges the gap between theory and practice, showing those who teach and care for infants, children, and adolescents how to apply developmental research and theory to everyday practice. This topically organized text describes developmental phenomena and provides instruction and opportunities to practice observations of and analyses of what children say, do, and create, ensuring that educators can make informed decisions that meet children's and adolescents' needs. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video, assessments, teacher certification exam prep, and video analysis exercises. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad(R) and Android(R) tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.

Note: This is the loose-leaf version of Lanuage Arts and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with the loose-leaf version, use ISBN 0134059808. This is a new edition of a best-selling, exceptionally applied look at how to teach elementary language arts effectively in every classroom, for all students. Language Arts: Patterns of Practice, 9/e sets the bar for K-8 language arts methods texts, not only for its coverage of the six language arts-listening, talking, reading, writing, viewing, and visually representing-but also for its presentation of the instructional approaches (patterns of practice) teachers use to integrate the teaching of language arts within literacy instruction. Author Gail Tompkins, well known her accessible and practical presentation of information, includes complete descriptions about and strategies for teaching reading and writing workshop, literature focus units, literature circles, and thematic units. The book features chapter-opening vignettes that showcase classroom teaching, mini-lessons that demonstrate how to teach language arts concepts, and step-by-step details on a variety of instructional procedures, all presented in an easy-to-follow manner that shows how the concepts apply to the classroom. New to this edition is the pervasive and specific alignment of Common Core Standards for English Language Arts to classroom practice, including classroom examples and features that identify how the standards can be met using specific methods. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video, interactive step-by-step instructional procedures, and assessments. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad(R) and Android(R) tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.

Note: This is the loose-leaf version of Effective Teaching Methods and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with the loose-leaf version, use ISBN 0134054873.   Prepare to meet the challenges of today's diverse classrooms--and discover the opportunities for professional growth and advancement they provide--with this widely popular, market-leading text. In an accessible, conversational style, this book shows new and future teachers how to apply success-proven, research-based teaching practices that are up to date, practical and realistic for use in today's diverse classrooms. The material and teaching practices presented are supplemented with examples from classroom videos, written classroom dialogues, and case studies, many taken from years of research and observation of effective teaching practices in actual classrooms. Readers see clearly how to engage students in the learning process, manage the classroom effectively, and increase student achievement. The new edition of Borich's Effective Teaching Methods helps prepare teachers for the challenges of today's diverse classrooms through coverage of such topics as Common Core curriculum standards, differentiated instruction, new educational technologies, special populations in the general education classroom, cognitive and academic language proficiency, and new legislative initiatives such as Race to the Top and Response to Intervention. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video and assessments.   Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.      

This title is also available packaged with the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0133385698.   In lucid and jargon-free prose, the text explains and illustrates educational psychology's practical relevance for teachers and learners.  The new edition continues to emphasize the applications of research on child development, on learning and cognition, on motivation, and on instruction and assessment.  At the same time the text has long been counted on for its state of the art presentation of the field of educational psychology, and this edition continues that tradition with new and expanded coverage of import topics like the brain and neuroscience, the impact of technology on the lives and learning of students, and student diversity. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video.   Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone or with a loose-leaf version of the text for 40-65% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.   From reviews of the book: "I polled my students . . . and the vast majority actually liked the textbook (which is rare). They find it easy to read, interesting and engaging. . . .  This textbook's major strengths are its cognitive perspective, its readability, and the fact that it puts into practice some of the information-processing strategies that it teaches as effective ways to process information. . . ."             --Elizabeth Pemberton, University of Delaware    "[T]he text is written in a . . . conversational style that invites students to actively explore complex questions about teaching and learning.  It is well-organized, supported with visual aids, and various learning tools, such as guidelines, reflection activities, and cases presenting opposing viewpoints.  Most importantly, the text is informed and well supported by contemporary scholarship in the field of educational psychology."         --Alina Reznitskaya, Montclair State University

Offering a curriculum focus, this is one of the most accessible introductory early childhood texts.  It's an engaging introduction to practical developmentally appropriate practice.   Teaching Young Children is organized around five essential elements of early education--understanding child development, play, guidance, working with families and communities, and diversity. These elements are clearly identified and explored in the prose, through boxed features in every chapter, and in one chapter devoted to each essential element. The book also presents many concrete applications strategies so that you'll know exactly what to do, including what traits and behaviors to observe and factors to consider and reflect upon in order to insure that you have a firm grasp on each child's interest and abilities--essential to planning learning activities.  

Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 013383087X.   George Morrison's goal in creating the Thirteenth Edition of Early Childhood Education Today was to collect the most current, researched-based information available on providing the high-quality early education all children need to be successful in school and in life.   The new edition integrates thirteen critical themes that are foundational to the field today: the importance of children's literacy development, teaching in increasingly diverse classrooms, applying developmentally appropriate practice, closing the achievement gaps between children in poverty and those that are more economically advantaged, integrating special education and early childhood education, teaching in an inclusive classroom, closing school readiness gaps, meeting the challenges of teacher accountability, integrating STEM subjects into the curriculum, providing for children's mental health, using technology to support learners, developing as a professional, and guiding children's behavior to promote personal responsibility.   The new edition retains the engaging style that has made the book so popular and provides practical examples of authentic teaching practices used by master teachers around the country. Its strong coverage of development in the age-specific chapters and its emphasis on diversity make it the leading book in the field. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video, video analysis exercises, and assessments.   Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad#65533; and Android#65533; tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone or with a loose-leaf version of the text for 40-65% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.    

This best-selling text offers a balanced approach to issues as it explores today's multicultural landscape and how to prepare teachers to use equitable and reflective decision making in their multicultural classrooms.     The ninth edition of Multicultural Education in a Pluralistic Society was designed to introduce prospective teachers to the different cultural groups to which students and their families belong. In this time of extensive standardized testing, we must remember that students are the center of teaching. We have to understand and build on their cultures and experiences to help them learn at the highest levels. In this regard, this book provides background on the diversity of the nation's students, explores the social and educational issues faced by teachers in diverse classrooms, and guides the reader to think critically and reflectively about their decisions as a teacher in a multicultural education classroom.

For courses in Assessment and Tests and Measurement. Note: This is the bound-book version of Classroom Assessment: Principles and Practice for Effective Standards-Based Instruction and does not include access to Pearson MyLab Education. To order MyLab Education® with Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with the bound-book version, use ISBN 0134522087.     A comprehensive, nontechnical, engaging, look at how assessment is used to improve student learning and motivation. Drawing on recent research and new directions in the field, this concise, engaging book shows teachers how to use classroom assessment effectively for improving student learning and motivation. Key strategies and techniques are demonstrated through practical, realistic examples, suggestions, and case studies. The new edition emphasizes formative assessment and includes more in-depth coverage of self-assessment, the impact of standards-based accountability testing, 21st century knowledge, dispositions and skills, technology-enhanced items, and assessment of culturally diverse students. Each chapter provides aids to help readers learn and practice the skills of that chapter, including new Teacher Corners features illustrating actual teachers' thinking about classroom assessment, introductory case studies, chapter concept maps, new figures, suggestions for action research, self-instructional review exercises, and links to digital resources.    Also available with Pearson MyLab Education® This title is also available with MyLab Education - an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with the text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students see key concepts demonstrated through video clips, practice what they learn, test their understanding, and receive feedback to guide their learning and ensure they master key learning outcomes.   

Exceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education has always been known for its innovation, strong research base and accessibility.  The tenth edition has all of those strengths, but has a greater focus on highly effective, research-based practices that are described in a very step-by-step, applied manner.  Heward presents an informative and responsible introduction to the professional practices, trends, and research that define contemporary special education while also conveying the diversity and excitement of this changing field.  The book is for those teachers who will be professionals in the area of special education or those who are working with students that have exceptionalities.

Offers a strong balance between research and applications. #65533; Robert Feldman offers students a chronological overview of physical, cognitive, social, and emotional development--from conception through death with his text Development Across the Life Span. This best-selling text presents up-to-date coverage of theory and research, with an emphasis on the application of these concepts by students in their personal--and future professional--lives. The text taps into students' inherent interest in the subject of human development, encouraging them to draw connections between the material and their own experiences. #65533; MyDevelopmentLab is an integral part of the Feldman program. Key learning applications include, MyDevelopmentLab video series, MyVirtualLife, and MyVirtualChild. #65533; Teaching & Learning Experience Personalize Learning -- MyDevelopmentLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program. It helps students prepare for class and instructor gauge individual and class performance. Improve Critical Thinking #65533;-- Review and Apply#65533;sections -- Consist of short recaps of the chapters' main points, followed by questions designed to provoke critical thinking. Engage Students #65533;-- Chapter Opening Prologues --#65533;Describe an individual or situation that is relevant to the basic developmental issues being addressed in the chapter. Explore Research -- From Research to Practice boxes -- Describe a contemporary developmental research topic. Support Instructors #65533;-- A number of Instructor Resources including PowerPoint Presentations, MyTest Test Bank, and Instructor's Manual. 0205940749 / 9780205940745 Development Across the Lifespan Plus NEW MyDevelopmentLab with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of:#65533;#65533;#65533; 0205206522 / 9780205206520 NEW MyDevelopmentLab with Pearson eText -- Valuepack Access Card 0205940072 / 9780205940073 Development Across the Life Span #65533;