LibGuides: Health and Physical Education: Home

Library Liaison-School of Education

Zina Conley, MSHS, MLS

Email Me

Contact:

1200 North University Drive
Pine Bluff, Arkansas

(870) 575-8409

Creator

Shenise McGhee, M.S.L.S., M.S.HED.

Email Me

Contact:

John Brown Watson Memorial Library System
1200 North University Drive Pine Bluff, Arkansas 71601

Office: (870) 575-8896 Fax: (870) 575-4642

Textbooks on Reserve

Foundations of Physical Education, Exercise Science, and Sport by Deborah A. Wuest; Charles Augustus Bucher; Jennifer Fisette
ISBN: 9780078095788
Publication Date: 2011-01-27
Foundations of Physical Education, Exercise Science, and Sport by Deborah A. Wuest; Jennifer L. Fisette
ISBN: 9780073522777
Publication Date: 2014-04-11
Foundations of Therapeutic Recreation by Terry Robertson; Terry Long
ISBN: 9780736062091
Publication Date: 2007-08-07
Leisure Program Planning and Delivery by Ruth V. Russell; Lynn M. Jamieson
ISBN: 9780736057332
Publication Date: 2007-08-20
Manual of Structural Kinesiology by R. T. Floyd; Aron Thompson; Clem Thompson
ISBN: 9780073369297
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Motor Learning and Control by David Anderson; Richard Magill
ISBN: 9780078022678
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Sports and Recreational Activities by Dale Mood; Frank F. Musker; Judith Rink
ISBN: 9780078022487
Publication Date: 2011-02-23
Successful Coaching-4th Edition by Rainer Martens
ISBN: 9781450400510
Publication Date: 2012-02-17

Physical Education Video

ASK A LIBRARIAN

Got Questions
Having trouble finding a specific resource? Can't find the Database that fits your research? Not sure where else to look? The library has many ways to assist you to make sure you find what you need.

Department of Health and Physical Edcation

Health, Physical Education & Recreation
This program focuses on Recreation in which individuals could become Personal Trainers, Sports Directors at Recreation Centers, and other fields in the Recreation and Fitness Industry. Finally, the department offers Coaching Endorsement to individuals who are earning a Teaching License in another discipline.

Health and Physical Education

Databases for Health and Physical Education

Health and Physical Statistics

Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government's open data sources. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. Includes data on Agriculture, climate, ecosystems, and more.
HealthData.gov
A collection of datasets gathered by the US Government pertaining to health.
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People 2020 tracks approximately 1,200 objectives organized into 42 topic areas, each of which represents an important public health area. At the time of the December 2010 launch 911 objectives were measurable with baseline data and established targets. A few objectives that have achieved high levels of success are being tracked without a target for informational purposes. Targets will be set during the decade for these objectives if warranted. The rest of the objectives did not have baseline data and were considered developmental. Targets for the developmental objectives will be set when baseline data become available.
National Center for Health Statistics
A collection of datasets collected and compiled by the CDC on a variety of health metrics and issues.
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics
A collection of health statistics and datasets describing the health of people living in North Carolina.
National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health
The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. The Add Health cohort has been followed into young adulthood with four in-home interviews, the most recent in 2008, when the sample was aged 24-32. Add Health is re-interviewing cohort members in a Wave V follow-up from 2016-2018 to collect social, environmental, behavioral, and biological data with which to track the emergence of chronic disease as the cohort moves through their fourth decade of life.

Books in the Main Libray

Diagnostic Imaging by Michael P. Federle
Call Number: John Brown Watson Memorial Library John Brown Watson Memorial Library 613.7 D238ph
ISBN: 0721628834
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Moving into the Future by National Association for Sport and Physical Education Staff; George Graham; Shirley Ann Holt-Hale; Melissa Parker
Call Number: John Brown Watson Memorial Library John Brown Watson Memorial Library 613.7042
ISBN: 9780883149096
Publication Date: 2004-04-14
Performance-Based Assessment for Middle and High School Physical Education by Jacalyn Lea Lund; Mary Fortman Kirk
Call Number: John Brown Watson Memorial Library John Brown Watson Memorial Library 613.7 L962, 2002
ISBN: 0736032703
Publication Date: 2002-09-09

Physical Education e-books

Encouraging Early Sports Skills by Sandy Green
ISBN: 9781909101067
Publication Date: 2012-10-22
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health by James M. Rippe (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412950237
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
Getting into the Game by Shafali Spurling Jeste (Contribution by); Veronica Smith; Stephanie Y Patterson; Connie Kasari (Foreword by); Laura Dumas (Contribution by); Janine Halayko (Contribution by); Vivian Ng (Contribution by); Jonathan Rivero (Contribution by); Richard K. Spurling (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781849052498
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
Learning and Teaching in Physical Education by Colin A. Hardy; Michael Mawer
ISBN: 9781135707866
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Start Your Own Personal Training Business by Entrepreneur Press
ISBN: 9781613081754
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Strong Kids, Healthy Kids by Fredrick Hahn
ISBN: 9780814409428
Publication Date: 2008-11-12
What Students Learned in Gym Class by Virginia S. Cowen
ISBN: 9780773417625
Publication Date: 2010-02-05

Physical Education Resources

AAHPERD - Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
AAHPERD is a non-profit, educational organization whose mission is to promote and support creative and healthy lifestyles through high quality programs in health, physical education, recreation and dance.

PE Central
PE Central provides the latest information about instructionally appropriate physical education practices and programs.

Physical Education Lesson Plans
Educators in physical education can post and exchange class lessons here.

Health and Physical Study Guides

Praxis II Health and Physical Education Content Knowledge (5857) Exam Secrets Study Guide by Praxis II Exam Secrets Test Prep (Editor)
ISBN: 9781630949396
Publication Date: 2015-02-25
Praxis II Health and Physical Education: Content Knowledge (5857) Exam Secrets helps you ace the Praxis II: Subject Assessments, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive Praxis II Health and Physical Education: Content Knowledge (5857) Exam Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test.
Praxis II Health and Physical Education: Content Knowledge (0856) Exam Flashcard Study System
ISBN: 1610726723
Praxis II Health and Physical Education: Content Knowledge (0856) Exam Flashcard Study System uses repetitive methods of study to teach you how to break apart and quickly solve difficult test questions on the Praxis II: Subject Assessments
Praxis II Special Education (0543/5543) Study Guide
ISBN: 9781941759134
Publication Date: 2014-06-11
Think all Praxis II Special Education (0354/5354) study guides are the same? Think again! With easy to understand lessons and practice test questions designed to maximize your score, you'll be ready. You don't want to waste time - and money! - retaking an exam. You want to accelerate your education, not miss opportunities for starting your future career! Every year, thousands of people think that they are ready for the Praxis II Special Education (0354/5354) test but realize too late when they get their score back that they were not ready at all.

Health and Physical Education: Home

Welcome