Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library Psychology LibGuide created for your research needs! We hope these linked resources will provide helpful information for your classroom assignments. In this libguide you will find links to eBooks, eJournals, articles, videos, course reserve items, and writing guides. The libguide has also been linked to the Psychology Department’s Homepage. If you need any additional information please call or email your library liaison listed on this page. Faculty may also make suggestions for additional links for this libguide to help students be successful.
Psychology Course Reserves
Abnormal Psychology 10e by
Publication Date: 2017-12-29
An award-winning teacher, accomplished researcher, and experienced therapist, Ron Comer knows how to communicate the complexities of the abnormal psychology, to speak to the concerns of students, and to portray the real human impact of psychological disorders. For the 10th edition of this market leading textbook, Ron is joined by Jonathan Comer who brings his special expertise in developmental psychopathology research, brain circuitry, cognitive-behavioral research, and technology-driven treatment. With its signature integrated coverage of theory, diagnosis, and treatment, and remarkably inclusive cross-cultural perspective, this new edition of Comer's widely adopted textbook shows students where the study and treatment of psychological disorders stand today. In addition to a thorough updating, the new edition employs some extraordinary interactive tools to bring students face to face with the realities of psychological dysfunction, organized for easy access and assignability in LaunchPad, Worth Publishers' breakthrough online course space.
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
More students learn from John Santrock’s Adolescence than from any other text in this field. The 15th edition combines proven pedagogy and the most current research to provide a market-leading presentation of adolescence. This time-tested text provides compelling contemporary research, including updates from a multitude of leading experts in the field. The text's accessible presentation, plentiful applications, and engaging writing foster increased mastery of the content. The new edition continues with the “Connections” theme, guiding students to connect topical processes in development, connect research to what we know about development, and connect development to the real world. The new edition also includes substantially expanded material on diversity and culture, adolescents’ and emerging adults’ health and well-being including numerous recommendations for improving the lives of adolescents, and expanded emphasis on the positive aspects of adolescent development.
Publication Date: 2016-02-24
Cutting-edge science, personalized for today's students. As a well-respected researcher, Laurence Steinberg connects current research with real-world application, helping students see the similarities and differences in adolescent development across different social, economic, and cultural backgrounds. Through an integrated, personalized digital learning program, students gain the insight they need to study smarter, stay focused, and improve their performance.
Cognitive Psychology by
Publication Date: 2015-02-11
Cognitive Psychology covers core content such as perception, attention, memory, language, reasoning and problem solving, and cognitive neuroscience with an emphasis on current methods of study. The text features a student-friendly writing style that introduces students of cognitive psychology to the main topics of study in this field through a description of how cognitive processes have been and continue to be studied by researchers in this key area of psychology. Key features: Introduces cognitive psychology topics in a student-friendly manner Helps students understand the methods that cognitive researchers use to better understand cognitive processes Encourages students to think critically about current theories and research in cognitive psychology
Essentials of Psychology by
Publication Date: 2013-01-17
In a concise and accessible format that incorporates the latest research, ESSENTIALS OF PSYCHOLOGY, 6th Edition, encourages you to learn by doing--to actively participate using materials from the text and to think about what you're learning as opposed to passively receiving written information. Effective learning features that help you master the material include Linkages that show how topics in psychology are interrelated, Thinking Critically sections that walk you through a five-question approach to one topic in each chapter, and Focus on Research sections organized around questions to help you learn to think objectively about research questions and results. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Foundations of Behavioral Neuroscience by
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
Helps apply the research findings of behavioral neuroscience to daily life. The ninth edition of Foundations of Behavioral Neuroscience offers a concise introduction to behavioral neuroscience. The text incorporates the latest studies and research in the rapidly changing fields of neuroscience and physiological psychology. The theme of strategies of learning helps readers apply these research findings to daily life. Foundations of Behavioral Neuroscience is an ideal choice for the instructor who wants a concise text with a good balance of human and animal studies. MyPsychLab is an integral part of the Carlson program. Key learning applications include the MyPsychLab Brain. Teaching & Learning Experience Personalize Learning - MyPsychLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program. It helps students prepare for class and instructor gauge individual and class performance. Improve Critical Thinking -Each chapter begins with a list of Learning Objectives that also serve as the framework for the Study Guide that accompanies this text. Engage Students -An Interim Summary follows each major section of the book. The summaries provide useful reviews and also break each chapter into manageable chunks. Explore Theory/Research - APS Reader, Current Directions in Biopsychology in MyPsychLab Support Instructors - A full set of supplements, including MyPsychLab, provides instructors with all the resources and support they need. 0205962092 / 9780205962099 Foundations of Behavioral Neuroscience Plus NEW MyPsychLab with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0205206514 / 9780205206513 NEW MyPsychLab with Pearson eText -- Valuepack Access Card 0205940242 / 9780205940240 Foundations of Behavioral Neuroscience
Human Learning by
Publication Date: 2011-09-14
This highly respected, market-leading textbook on learning theories applied to education prepares pre-service teachers and other educators with a unique and meaningful learning experience. The sixth edition of Human Learning covers a broad-range of learning theories and key perspectives on learning related to education, including: behaviorist, cognitive, social cognitive, contextual, and developmental theories, always highlighting relationships between concepts. Additionally, the text details associationistic processes (e.g., classical and instrumental conditioning), and more complex and distinctly human processes (e.g. metacognition, self-regulated learning, critical thinking). Every chapter features key pedagogical concepts with specific applications to classroom practice, numerous concrete examples that illustrate key concepts, principles, and recommendations and dozens of proven examples help make the fundamentals of these theories comprehensible to students with little or no prior coursework in psychology. Significant updates to this textbook include: important updates to reflect the most current research and new theories in the field, expansion of the chapter on cognition and memory, re-organization of Piaget and Vygotsky content into two separate chapters, a core section on teaching critical thinking skills, and the discussion of technology-based instructed has been significantly revised and expanded in this edition.
Industrial and Organizational Psychology by
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
The field of industrial and organizational psychology continues to see attention and growth and has become one of the major applied specialties in the study of psychology. Since findings from research in this field are relevant to everyone who has held a job, and the field has developed proven methods that businesses and organizations need, industrial and organizational psychology is an excellent demonstration of how society can benefit from the study of psychology. The 6th Edition of Industrial and Organizational Psychology incorporates all new and updated literature that has been written on the topic since the 5th edition. Spector's goal is to provide an overview and comprehensive understanding of organizational psychology. Each of the major areas that comprise industrial and organizational psychology is covered in five parts: introduction to the discipline; assessment of jobs, performance, and people; selecting and training employees; the individual and the organization; and the social context of work.
Introduction to Forensic Psychology by
Publication Date: 2018-02-05
Written by authors with extensive experience in the field and in the classroom, Introduction to Forensic Psychology: Research and Application, Fifth Edition, by Curt R. Bartol and Anne M. Bartol, demonstrates how to analyze psychological knowledge and research findings and then apply these findings to the civil and criminal justice systems. Focusing on research-based forensic practice and practical application, this text uses real-life examples and case law discussions to define and explore forensic psychology. This text introduces you to emerging specializations within forensic psychology, including investigative psychology, family forensic psychology, and police and public safety psychology. You will develop a multicultural perspective with an ethnic and racial sensitivity, which is critical to the successful practice of forensic psychology. New to the Fifth Edition: Updated statistics, research, and case law, such as recent Aid in Dying legislation, as well as analysis of recent events, help you see the real-world applications to current events. Updated Focus boxes empower you to dig deeper into current issues, such as mental health courts, community-oriented policing, child abduction, hate crimes, the death penalty, and more. All Focus boxes also contain discussion questions for you to debate in a classroom setting. All new From My Perspectiveboxes provide you with information about career choices as well as helpful advice about pursuing your career goals. Increased attention to immigration-related issuesoffers you additional insights into immigration proceedings and ways to consult with the courts. Additional coverage of human trafficking and online sexual predatorsenables you to better understand the psychological effects on victims and the services available to help. Current research on violent video games, cyberbullying, and cyberstalking provides real examples of the effects of violent media. New research on juvenilesallows you to see the important contributions of neuropsychologists, particularly in terms of brain development in adolescents and promising community-based treatment approaches for juveniles.
Lifespan Development by
Publication Date: 2010-06-15
The combined features that distinguish this text from other titles can be summarized with an acronym: CARE C utting edge research A pplied developmental science R eadability E ssential knowledge Written by respected child, adolescent, and adulthood development experts, this authoritative and chronologically organized text presents an integrated perspective on lifespan development. The authors write in an engaging manner, synthesizing biological, social, cultural, and socioeconomic influences as opposed to organizing content around developmental themes. Incorporation of classic and cutting-edge research includes extensive coverage of new research in developmental neuroscience, which has transformed the study of lifespan development by introducing brain maturation. At the same time, the text emphasizes the application of developmental psychology to real world problems, focusing on the ways in which knowledge of child development can inform social policy and practice in the fields of child care, education, mental health, and family life. The text also examines the many fascinating changes that take place through adulthood to help students answer the important question: Who will I become tomorrow? And with a separate epilogue that focuses on death and dying, the book takes students on a developmental journey from our first breath to our last.Reflecting the authors' combined expertise, the broad array of real-life examples resonate with students from different backgrounds and fields of study, and with different occupational goals in mind. With its distinctive and effective combination of cutting-edge research, applications, readability, and essential knowledge, this text helps students understand and appreciate what today's scientists are discovering about human development across the lifespan, how they study the process, and how this knowledge can be used to improve the lives of infants, children, adolescents, and adults around the world.
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
How would you describe your personality, or can you? Whatever your answer, this text will help you understand personality -- the qualities and traits that form every individual's distinctive character. You'll learn about theoretical explanations of personality, and about the research that illuminates how those theories are relevant in the world around you. Biographical sketches of theorists and accounts of the stories behind influential research programs help you see how classic and contemporary findings relate to each other, and illustrate the connection between theory and research. As you read, personality tests encourage you to interact with the material -- and learn more about your own personality.
Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences by
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Statistics is one of the most practical and essential courses that you will take, and a primary goal of this popular text is to make the task of learning statistics as simple as possible. Straightforward instruction, built-in learning aids, and real-world examples have made STATISTICS FOR THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES, 10th Edition the text selected most often by instructors for their students in the behavioral and social sciences. The authors provide a conceptual context that makes it easier to learn formulas and procedures, explaining why procedures were developed and when they should be used. This text will also instill the basic principles of objectivity and logic that are essential for science and valuable in everyday life, making it a useful reference long after you complete the course.
Library Homepage Link
The John Brown Watson Memorial Library System includes the main library and five satellites. The library system is the heart of the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB) because it serves the curricular and research needs of students, faculty, and staff across the curriculum, with innovative spaces for collaboration on multi-media projects, exemplary resources, and a phenomenal staff. duplication of resources, availability of similar holdings are checked and referred to the requester. If the request requires a new purchase, allotments are made either through the volumes budget, Title III funding, or a grant proposal; however, the goal is always to provide the faculty and students with needed resources in a timely manner.
The library system is a member of several consortia groups that purchase discounted resources for availability throughout the state or the university system. The library also participates in document delivery services, i.e. interlibrary loan services, to acquire resources from other statewide or national libraries.
Associate Library Director