Nursing

Reinforce your understanding of essential examination and assessment skills and with this lab manual companion to Carolyn Jarvis' Physical Examination and Health Assessment, 6th Edition. A wide variety of checklists, activities, and exercises challenge you to apply your knowledge and provide hands-on practice. A variety of learning activities test your understanding with multiple-choice, short answer, fill-in-the-blank, matching, and review questions. Clinical objectives for each chapter help you study more efficiently and effectively. Regional write-up sheets familiarize you with physical examination forms and offer practice in recording narrative accounts of patient history and examination findings. Anatomy labeling exercises offer additional practice with identifying key anatomy and physiology. Narrative summary forms reflect the charting format used for narrative accounts of health history and for physical examination findings. A comprehensive glossary provides fast, easy access to key terminology and definitions. Reading assignments help you review corresponding chapters in the textbook and include page references. Audio-visual assignments tie videos of specific examination procedures to practical applications in the lab. NEW NCLEX® exam-style review questions help to prepare you for the NCLEX exam. NEW evidence-based guidelines reflect a focus on conducting the most effective, qualitative exams. NEW content on the Electronic Health Record, charting, and narrative recording includes examples of how to document assessment findings.

Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Fourth Edition teaches nursing students the history of healthcare informatics, current issues, basic informatics concepts, and health information management applications. This comprehensive text contains basic through complex concepts to address the needs of the novice through innovator. The text takes the reader from the building blocks of informatics through complicated topics such as data mining, bioinformatics, and system development. The content is enhanced through its grounding in the Foundation of Knowledge Model founded by the authors.The purpose of this text is to provide a set of practical and powerful tools to ensure that students gain a solid understanding of Nursing Informatics and is able to move from information through knowledge to wisdom. The field of Informatics is a rapidly growing and ever-changing. In accordance with industry changes the Fourth Edition has been update to include two competency based assessment tools: TANIC and NICA L3/L4.New to the Fourth EditionCoverage of change theoryUpdates on EHR systems and their increased useInformation on SMART technologies and patient safetyNew tools including wearables, connectivity, virtual patient tools, appsSimulated clinical experiencesEmerging technologiesNavigate 2 Premiere Access

Prepare for a successful career as a community/public health nurse! Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the Community, 9th Edition provides up-to-date information on issues that impact public health nursing, such as infectious diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and health care policies affecting individuals, families, and communities. Real-life scenarios show examples of health promotion and public health interventions. New to this edition is an emphasis on QSEN skills and an explanation of the influence of the Affordable Care Act on public health. Written by well-known nursing educators Marcia Stanhope and Jeanette Lancaster, this comprehensive, bestselling text is ideal for students in both BSN and Advanced Practice Nursing programs. Evidence-Based Practice and Cutting Edge boxes illustrate the use and application of the latest research findings in public/community health nursing. Healthy People 2020 boxes highlight goals and objectives for promoting the nation's health and wellness over the next decade. Levels of Prevention boxes identify specific nursing interventions at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels. Practice Application scenarios help you apply chapter content to the practice setting by analyzing case situations and answering critical thinking questions. Linking Content to Practice boxes provide examples of the nurse's role in caring for individuals, families, and populations in community health settings. Unique! Separate chapters on healthy cities, the Minnesota Intervention Wheel, and nursing centers describe different approaches to community health initiatives. Community/Public Health Nursing Online consists of 14 modules that bring community health situations to life, each including a reading assignment, case scenarios with learning activities, an assessment quiz, and critical thinking questions. Sold separately. NEW! Coverage of health care reform discusses the impact of The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) on public health nursing. NEW! Focus on Quality and Safety Education for Nurses boxes give examples of how quality and safety goals, knowledge, competencies and skills, and attitudes can be applied to nursing practice in the community.

With an easy-to-read approach and unmatched learning support, Physical Examination & Health Assessment, 6th Edition offers a clear, logical, and holistic approach to physical exam across the lifespan. Detailed illustrations, summary checklists, and new learning resources ensure that you learn all the skills you need to know. This gold standard in physical exam reflects what is going on in nursing today with coverage of emerging trends and new evidence-based content. It''s easy to see why this text is, far and away, #1 in this market! A clear, logical, and streamlined approach simplifies content and helps you learn to perform the complete health assessment: The conversational, easy-to-understand writing style makes learning easier. A two-column format distinguishes normal findings from abnormal findings, and uses step-by-step photos to clarify examination techniques and expected findings. 1,200 full-color illustrations present anatomy and physiology, examination techniques, and abnormal findings. Abnormal findings tables include more than 300 pathophysiology photos to help in recognizing, sorting, and describing abnormalities. Comprehensive coverage reflects the realities of today''s nursing practice: NEW content on the Electronic Health Record, charting, and narrative recording provides examples of how to document assessment findings. 150 NEW normal and abnormal examination photos for the nose, mouth, throat, thorax, and pediatric assessment show findings that are unexpected or that require referral for follow-up care, with cultural diversity and developmental variations. UPDATED evidence-based practice content is highlighted and reflects a focus on conducting the most effective, accurate examinations. UPDATED case studies provide opportunities to apply your knowledge and develop your analytical skills. Checklists for use in RN-to-BSN completion programs provide a refresher for seasoned nurses returning to the classroom. A holistic approach to assessment accommodates the diverse types of patients that you will encounter in the real world: Documentation and Critical Thinking sections provide real-world clinical examples of specific patients and how to record assessment findings in the patient''s chart, using the SOAP format. Promoting a Healthy Lifestyle boxes enable patient teaching and health promotion while performing the health assessment, and now address the key concept of prevention. Developmental Competence sections provide age-specific assessment techniques for infants, children, adolescents, pregnant women, and older adults. Culture and Genetics sections include biocultural and transcultural information on an increasingly diverse patient population. Spanish-language translations highlight important phrases for improved data gathering and communication during the physical examination with Spanish-speaking patients. NEW evidence-based guidelines reflect a focus on conducting the most effective, qualitative exams. NEW Substance Use Assessment chapter addresses this increasingly critical aspect of holistic patient assessments. 100 new photos of step-by-step examination techniques include all-new exam panoramas for key systems. 100 new abnormal findings photos provide instant visual cues for findings that are unexpected or that require referral for follow-up care. Expanded chapter on assessment of the hospitalized adult provides a focused assessment of the patient in the hospital setting. New content on obesity provides current information on this growing health problem.

Learn how to evaluate and apply research with the #1 nursing research book! Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice is known for its authoritative content, a time-tested step-by-step approach, and abundant use of research examples. With improved clarity and readability, the new edition strengthens its focus on evidence-based practice to better demonstrate how the steps of the research process relate to evidence-based nursing. Written by two of the leaders in the field of nursing research, Nancy Burns and Susan K. Grove, this full-color text offers unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research to evidence-based practice. "This would be excellent for student nurses, nurses new to research or any nurse with an interest in research." Reviewed by: Helen Reeves, St Giles Walsall Hospice on behalf of Nursing Times, December 2015 Authoritative content is written by two of the true pioneers in nursing research, who offer unique, first-hand insights into the field. Research examples provide practice in working with published studies, with many of the examples including Critical Appraisal and Implications for Practice sections. Clear, step-by-step organization introduces the research process and demonstrates how this systematic framework relates to evidence-based practice. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you develop skills in studying and appraising published research, so you are prepared for your role in working with research evidence. Critical Appraisal Guidelines boxes provide step-by-step guidance in appraising published research studies. Emphasis on critical appraisal versus critique reflects contemporary usage in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Balanced coverage of qualitative research prepares you to approach research questions and clinical questions with an unbiased view of the researcher''s methodology. Presentation of two different appraisal processes covers both the traditional in-depth critical appraisal process that prepares you for graduate-level work in research, and the concise, practice-focused research appraisal process that equips you for quick and accurate evaluation of the applicability of research findings to clinical practice. NEW! Redesigned research example format includes research examples have been thoroughly redesigned with a clear hierarchy of subcategories. NEW! Improved focus on need-to-know content and greater use of bulleting, creative illustrations, and tables, employs a more consistent, streamlined approach from chapter to chapter. NEW! Updated research examples ensure you are learning through the most clinically relevant topics and studies. NEW! Detailed directions on how to critically appraise research syntheses - such as systematic reviews, meta-analyses, meta-syntheses, and mixed-methods systematic reviews - increase your understanding of the types of research syntheses conducted in nursing and how to determine the quality of these syntheses and the relevance of their findings for practice. NEW! A unique emphasis on QSEN, aided by the input of a QSEN consultant, increases the book''s relevance to national curriculum standards and promotes the safe practice of nursing by using the most current research. NEW! Chapter on the Enhanced Literature Review provides guidelines for structure of reviews written for different purposes. NEW! More practically focused chapter on Outcomes Research better addresses the trending topic of outcomes research. NEW! Expanded coverage of mixed-methods research and translational research responds to the growing emphasis on these research emphases. NEW! Expanded coverage of cultural competency and cultural validity provides valuable information for providing care to diverse populations and understanding the validity of research instruments in various cultures. NEW! Quick-reference tools include a Brief Table of Contents, a new Levels of Knowledge illustration, and other evidence-based practice information inside the front cover. A Research Designs and Statistical Analysis Techniques Reference and a new Key to Statistical Symbols are located inside the back cover. NEW! Enhanced illustration program incorporates re-colorized illustrations and additional full-color illustrations in each chapter. NEW! Additional design enhancements include a special 1-column adaptation of the RN Design standard, table row separators, and newly designed chapter openers.

Known for its accuracy, evidence-based focus, and engaging writing style, Wong''s Essentials of Pediatric Nursing, 10th Edition has been the #1 title in the pediatric nursing market since it first published in 1980! Thoroughly revised to equip you with the latest research and guidelines for treating children today, it encourages a whole-body approach by beginning with child development and health promotion to better understand the later chapters on specific health problems. A new chapter featuring all systems cancers provides comprehensive information in one place. Nursing Care Plans now incorporate additional case studies to personalize interventions and promote critical thinking. A developmental approach clearly identifies key tasks, influences, and differences at each stage of a child''s growth to help students provide appropriate, individualized care for each child. UNIQUE! Critical thinking case studies allow you to test and develop your analytical skills in a variety of clinical situations. UNIQUE! Quality Patient Outcomes content in Nursing Care Management discussions for major diseases and disorders helps you understand how the care you provide directly impacts patient safety and promotes positive outcomes. Updated genetic content in the Developmental and Genetic Influences on Children chapter addresses rapidly changing and important information as it relates to children in health and illness. UNIQUE! Family focus includes a separate chapter on the role of the family in child health, family content throughout the text, and Family-Centered Care boxes that highlight information on patient teaching, home care, and incorporating the family in the child''s care. UNIQUE! Translating Evidence into Practice boxes focus your attention on the application of research and critical thought processes to support and guide the outcomes of nursing care. UNIQUE! Atraumatic Care boxes guide you through performing procedures in a caring manner, promoting more positive experiences for children, families, and nurses. Drug Alerts throughout the text emphasize important drug information and point out potential safety issues. An emphasis on wellness offers health promotion and injury prevention strategies for each age group. Community Focus boxes provide resources and guidance on caring for children outside the clinical setting. Nursing Care Plans, including Nursing Diagnoses, Patient/Family Goals, Nursing Interventions/Rationales, and Expec1ted Outcomes, provide you with a model for planning patient care. Research Focus boxes help you remain abreast of current studies that impact pediatric nursing today. Cultural content, integrated throughout the text and highlighted in Cultural Considerations boxes, exposes you to customs and beliefs of different cultures that influence child care, enhancing your ability to provide quality nursing care to ALL children and their families. Nursing Tips throughout the text offer helpful hints and practical, clinical information of a non-emergency nature. Nursing Alerts throughout the text provide you with critical information that must be considered in providing care. UNIQUE! Emergency Treatment boxes serve as a quick reference in critical situations. Nursing Care Guidelines boxes provide you with clear, step-by-step, detailed instructions for performing specific skills or procedures. NEW! Updated content throughout, notably methods of measuring competency and outcomes (QSEN and others), ambiguous genitalia, pediatric measurements, guidelines, and standards as defined by the American Academy of Pediatrics, and clear definitions of adolescent and young adult, keeps you up-to-date on important topic areas. NEW! The Child with Cancer chapter includes all systems cancers for ease of access. NEW and UPDATED! Case Studies now linked to Nursing Care Plans to personalize interventions, while also providing questions to promote critical thinking.