Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Greetings Faculty, Staff, and Students. I am your library liaison and look forward to serving your information needs. This page contains a listing of resource databases currently subscribed to by the John Brown Watson Memorial Library System and the Arkansas State Library (made available for all state libraries).
I have compiled a sample of library resources which cover subjects across the social sciences discipline. Each of these databases may be accessed by using the libraries one-stop research tool called LION SEARCH located on the library homepage. Once you click on LION SEARCH, select your drop down arrow and click on articles, books, and more. Using this function will allow a cross search from all of the databases listed below. Happy Researching!
Social and Behavioral Science Video
School of Behavorial Science
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES
The School of Behavioral Sciences exists to promote programs preparing future graduates dedicated to impacting the fields of Psychology, Counseling, and Social Work within the context of a commitment to scientific competence and the demonstration of best practices.
Social and Behavorial Science
Databases for articles, books and more. Helpful hints: Always select full-text and peer-reviewed limiters on search page for articles and journals. Lion Search on the library homepage includes articles, books and more for all subject areas. Below is a partial listing of relevant library databases included in Lion search which may have social science resources. Most resources are full-text; however, on occasion you will find abstract articles. When the full article or other resource type cannot be found in the library’s databases, you may request an inter-library loan from another library by completing the form located on the library’s homepage and emailing it to our capable Inter-library Loan specialist.
ProQuest Psychology Database
This database is linked to 145,250 psychology scholarly journals, reports, magazines and newspapers and more.
Social and Behavioral Sciences E-Book Collection
This ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field.
Ask A Librarian
For specialized help within a particular discipline, consult with a librarian subject specialist.
Social and Behavorial Science Team
The Social & Behavioral Sciences Team includes leading behavioral scientists and innovators from across the country. SBST is organized under the National Science and Technology Council, and receives particular support from the Office of Evaluation Sciences (OES) at the General Services Administration (GSA).
Science Mental Health/Psychology
This website suggests that the White House is taking behavioral economics an increasingly popular field exploring the intersection between human behavior, decision-making and incentives to the policy making table
Addiction counselors help patients overcome dependence on drugs, alcohol, and destructive behaviors like gambling. Counselors intervene when patients are often at their lowest points in their struggles with addiction. A certified drug and alcohol counselor may also work with the families of addicts to assist the healing process. These professionals may work in outpatient facilities, inpatient rehabilitation centers, halfway houses, or hospitals.
Research and Citing Resources
These OWL resources will help you use the research you have conducted in your documents. This area includes material on quoting and paraphrasing your research sources, as well as material on how to avoid plagiarism.